Jump to content



Photo

HP Compaq DC7800 Convertible Minitower PC


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Swiftie

Swiftie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 18:39

Hi guys

I'm having an issue with a HP Compaq dc7800 Convertible Minitower PC where it doesn't post or start an install of any windows Vista/7/8 apart from Windows XP. I've also tried to test it with Ubuntu but it crashes aswell. I've pin pointed the issue to be with the NVidia Quadro VS 440 card that's installed in the machine as once removed and using the onboard graphics then all works fine. But I would like to keep the card as the plan would be to use 4 monitors,

This is the BSOD that gets generated with the card in.

"The bios in this system is not fully ACPI compliant"

I've updated the BIOS for the MOBO in the system to the newest available from HP. But no luck.. I've also gone in a search for the NVidia NVS 440 bios update but no luck with finding any. Any help or tips?


#2 c.grz

c.grz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 8.1U1 Professional
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 11 December 2012 - 18:42

Can you install the OS without the Quadro and then reinstall it once the install is complete?

Try it in another slot?

#3 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 11 December 2012 - 18:44

the problem is that particular card has been discontinued and doesn't support anything higher than XP

you might want to think about just replacing the gfx card

#4 c.grz

c.grz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 8.1U1 Professional
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 11 December 2012 - 19:00

Do you mean Quadro NVS 440? According to nVidia's website. These are the Windows Vista, 7, 8 drivers for it:

http://www.nvidia.co...hql-driver.html

#5 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 11 December 2012 - 19:17

I've used Windows XP, Vista & Windows 7 on an array of different DC7800 SFF which I believe share the same motherboard as the mini-tower without issue. We had HP OEM Nvidia NVS 285 or NVS 290 though.

See if manually map IRQ addresses helps (Keep SATA, LAN and Video on separate addresses; e.g. 5, 10, 11), save, power off & back on. Some machines would fail on ACPI related issues until this was performed. You might be able to flash the bios to another vendor/OEM on the card but do so at your own risk.

#6 OP Swiftie

Swiftie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 11 December 2012 - 21:40

Can you install the OS without the Quadro and then reinstall it once the install is complete?

Try it in another slot?


Been there and done that and it doesn't make a difference. In that the minute the NVidia card is in. Its just bluescreen after bluescreen on boot.

As with regards to another slot, there's only 1 PCIe x16 on the mobo.

Do you mean Quadro NVS 440? According to nVidia's website. These are the Windows Vista, 7, 8 drivers for it:

http://www.nvidia.co...hql-driver.html


Yes, sorry. Slight finger slip. It is a NVidia Quadro NVS 440. Its actually got HP Part numbers but when I access the details through HP support site (http://h20000.www2.h...eriesId=1152210). There are no downloads available. But as NVidia has drivers for the card, I'm left stumped on what's going on.

I've used Windows XP, Vista & Windows 7 on an array of different DC7800 SFF which I believe share the same motherboard as the mini-tower without issue. We had HP OEM Nvidia NVS 285 or NVS 290 though.

See if manually map IRQ addresses helps (Keep SATA, LAN and Video on separate addresses; e.g. 5, 10, 11), save, power off & back on. Some machines would fail on ACPI related issues until this was performed. You might be able to flash the bios to another vendor/OEM on the card but do so at your own risk.


This will be my next step I suppose.

#7 c.grz

c.grz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-September 04
  • Location: Chicago, Illinois
  • OS: Windows 8.1U1 Professional
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 11 December 2012 - 22:31

Is there another PCIe slot that you can just try it in to see if there's a difference?

#8 OP Swiftie

Swiftie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-March 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 12 December 2012 - 00:46

Is there another PCIe slot that you can just try it in to see if there's a difference?


Unfortunately not as the machine only has 1x PCIe 16 slot.

I've tried IRQ changes in the bios, but still the same result. :( what on earth could be happening?