Jump to content



Photo

Hyper-v 3 guest machines


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 stephenm19

stephenm19

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12

Posted 13 December 2012 - 10:58

Hello All

I am doing a work project at university and it is about virtualisation and I will need to install Microsoft server hyper-v 2012 onto two computers.

I alread know I can install it onto both machines.

But I need to know can i run hyper-v guests on computers with pentium 4 processors.


#2 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:19

Not from what I remember reading that remixedcat said because the lack the level 3 instructions for something though you can do it on W8's edition or maybe on server 2012 if you can disable the option somehow.
Ask remixedcat

#3 OP stephenm19

stephenm19

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:30

Well I know I can install hyper-v 3 on the computers because pentium 4 is enough but I don't know if I can run guests.

#4 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:35

Is it a 64bit chip with VT and DEP?

If so then yes you can... if no then well... no.

If you don't know, post the cpu model here

Or just follow this:

http://blogs.msdn.co...-and-amd-v.aspx

#5 OP stephenm19

stephenm19

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:45

Erm I'm not sure if it is a 64bit chip.

#6 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:49

Start learning boy, that's the basic thing to know if your cpu is 64bit or 32bit !

#7 OP stephenm19

stephenm19

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:51

Well its the universitys computers not mine and I can't remember.

#8 Teebor

Teebor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 10

Posted 13 December 2012 - 12:17

Screwdriver out, look around for techs and then pop that case off whilst nobody is looking :D

enabling virtualization in the BIOS would be helpful as well but if its not your computer access to the BIOS might be restricted.

Do you have to use Hyper-V? Working with VMWare might make this task easier?

#9 OP stephenm19

stephenm19

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-December 12

Posted 13 December 2012 - 14:17

well for my project I need to use both of them to find out which is better for buisnesses.

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 December 2012 - 14:19

hi, you will need the proper virtulization support on the CPU.

VT-X are needed. Also your processor must support Second Level Address Translation or Intel VT-x with Extended Page Tables (EPT) if this will be done under Windows 8. It is still preferred but not required for Windows Server 2012, however, as you will have enhanced performance of the VMs.

#11 _BeanZ_

_BeanZ_

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 06

Posted 13 December 2012 - 20:05

AFAIK there was only two Pentium 4s released with VT support, so the odds are stack against the OP.

#12 +Xenosion

Xenosion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-September 07
  • Location: Palm Beach, FL

Posted 13 December 2012 - 20:13

Hardware requirements

Prescott 2M (Extreme Edition)
Intel, by the first quarter of 2005, released a new Prescott core with 6x0 numbering, codenamed "Prescott 2M". Prescott 2M is also sometimes known by the name of its Xeon derivative, "Irwindale". It features Intel 64, the XD Bit, EIST (Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology), Tm2 (for processors at 3.6 GHz and above), and 2 MB of L2 cache. However, higher cache latency and the double word size, if using Intel 64 mode, negated any advantage that added cache introduced. Rather than being a targeted speed boost the double size cache was intended to provide the same space and hence performance for 64-bit mode operations.
6xx series Prescott 2Ms have incorporated Hyper-Threading in order to speed up some processes that use multithreaded software, such as video editing.
On November 14, 2005, Intel released Prescott 2M processors with VT (Virtualization Technology, codenamed "Vanderpool") enabled. Intel only released two models of this Prescott 2M category: 662 and 672, running at 3.6 GHz and 3.8 GHz, respectively.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_4

#13 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 December 2012 - 22:00

Alternatively you could buy your own server/PC and use that, doesn't have to be great spec. but it makes it much easier to learn with.

#14 Raa

Raa

    Resident something-or-rather

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 13 December 2012 - 22:07

Quite simply : No, not possible.

#15 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Mint 16
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 27 December 2012 - 16:08

The earliest machine I could find at work that would take Hyper-V 2012 was a Core 2 Quad Q9550 (2.83Ghz) on Intel X38 Express Chipset. Some older C2D/C2Q CPU's support it but the chipsets don't.
On AMD, Phenom or newer seems fine (I run a Phenom X4 2.2Ghz B3 at home with Server 2012 & Hyper-V 2012) but I hear B2 steppings and earlier are broken by mistake.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!