Jump to content



Photo

Hard Drive Not Recognized By Windows


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 13 December 2012 - 15:46

My friends hard drive recently died so we went out and managed to get a 1TB Western Digital Caviar Green for relatively cheap. Hooked it up to his rig and started installing Windows 7, everything went fine until it got to "Installing Upates" where it hung for about 10 mins or so and then said something like "The installiation couldn't finish because the file localle couldn't be accessed". After that I googled around to try and find an answer but couldn't find anything with an error message like that, today I brought over an old hard drive and put it in and installed 7 on it and then put in the new WD drive to use as a data drive but Windows didn't pick it up, rebooted and went into the BIOS where it showed fine and it was in the right SATA port. I installed Intel Rapid Storage and the disk shows up in it but all of the info says "unknown" and it still isn't being picked up by windows.

Posted Image

Posted Image

System specs

Posted Image

Anyone got any idea why it isn't being recognized now?


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 13 December 2012 - 15:48

Bad SATA cable or just a bad hard drive.

#3 OP The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 13 December 2012 - 15:52

Bad SATA cable or just a bad hard drive.

Swapped the two cables around and still had the same results, I thought the hard drive might be bad since it was recognized before but not now, just wanted to double check first before we went about trying to get a refund.

#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 December 2012 - 16:46

Get a Ubuntu Live CD and see if Linux can pick it up. It often can see drives that Windows can't.

Windows just probably corrupted it.

#5 OP The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 13 December 2012 - 16:50

Get a Ubuntu Live CD and see if Linux can pick it up. It often can see drives that Windows can't.

Windows just probably corrupted it.

Was just about to post back saying that I'd tried a copy of Ubuntu I had lying around and still no joy, just going to get a refund and try something else, after reading a few reviews the caviar green line doesn't sound that great.

#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 December 2012 - 17:29

WD's green line is for storage only, not for the OS. It is low powered for a reason.

#7 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 13 December 2012 - 17:42

Was just about to post back saying that I'd tried a copy of Ubuntu I had lying around and still no joy, just going to get a refund and try something else, after reading a few reviews the caviar green line doesn't sound that great.


Green drives are bottom of the barrel. Get yourself a good drive.

#8 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 13 December 2012 - 18:22

I prefer blue. I have at least 10 of them. (various through 5 PCs in house)

#9 OP The Dingus Diddler

The Dingus Diddler

    Sir Derpy McHerperton III

  • Joined: 04-October 10
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1020

Posted 13 December 2012 - 18:59

As I said I ended up trying it as a data drive but still had no luck, the shop also had some Seagate Barracudas so going to pick one of them up for £2 more. We were just in such a rush that we picked up the first reasonably priced drive we seen, didn't realise that it was quite that low powered!

EDIT: I know that the Barracuda is for storage as well, he's just keeping the drive I gave him for the OS.

#10 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 15 December 2012 - 17:40

WD's green line is for storage only, not for the OS. It is low powered for a reason.


FUD. While true they may be slower, if you were to use them as a OS drive, the drive wouldn't up and die because of it!

#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 15 December 2012 - 17:52

I never said it would die because of it. Just that they are not recommended to use as OS drive.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!