Jump to content



Photo

Ugh, really?


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#1 Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:13

Posted Image


#2 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:14

Huh?
Restart PC after a game install?
Since When?

#3 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:18

Lol! Isn't that one of those torrent specials? LMAO!

#4 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:21

Like it's a big deal, 30 seconds to a minute, time to get up and stretch some

#5 Blackhearted

Blackhearted

    .....

  • Joined: 26-February 04
  • Location: Ohio
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2 (VM)

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:26

Most of the time games and programs will say that but then work just fine without a reboot.

#6 darkrats

darkrats

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-April 02

Posted 17 December 2012 - 05:43

Unless it runs as a service in the background, I don't see why a game install would require a reboot.

Some pet peeves:

1. Software that requires access to the net in order to complete an install.
2. Software that brings up a webpage at the end of an install.
3. Software that requires a reboot of your computer before completing an install.
4. Software that needs net.framework in order to run.
5. Software that looks for updates even when you disable updates.

Games that won't run on my old IBM Netvista S42 with a GeForce 6600 video card!
(I'm going to be buying a really new system after the new year, if my plans all work out.

#7 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 17 December 2012 - 06:14

maybe that patch updated the Directx or something ?

#8 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 17 December 2012 - 08:39

Like it's a big deal, 30 seconds to a minute, time to get up and stretch some


Under 10 seconds with SSD and Win8.

#9 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 17 December 2012 - 08:44

The game does install .NET and a few other things, but usually when something tells me to reboot I just ignore it and launch anyway.

#10 +SharpGreen

SharpGreen

    Now with built-in BS detector.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: North Carolina
  • OS: Ubuntu 14.04, 12.04 and Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Nexus

Posted 17 December 2012 - 08:45

maybe that patch updated the Directx or something ?


Quite a few games do that, and never seem to actually require a reboot.

#11 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 17 December 2012 - 08:55

It's most likely just a safe guard, to ensure that if anything loaded any data into memory, that it'll be cleared before starting (So something like a DirectX update, it wouldn't like old + new versions in memory at the same time, etc.)

Lol! Isn't that one of those torrent specials? LMAO!

Uh, no. It's just the normal version of the game now.

#12 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 17 December 2012 - 15:47

It's most likely just a safe guard, to ensure that if anything loaded any data into memory, that it'll be cleared before starting (So something like a DirectX update, it wouldn't like old + new versions in memory at the same time, etc.)


Uh, no. It's just the normal version of the game now.


Was just joking. Bad joke.

#13 compl3x

compl3x

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-December 09
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4

Posted 18 December 2012 - 06:23

Admittedly annoying, although taking, cropping, and posting that image probably took more time than a reboot :p

#14 OP Lord Method Man

Lord Method Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 18 December 2012 - 06:32

Admittedly annoying, although taking, cropping, and posting that image probably took more time than a reboot :p


Alt+PrintScr -> Ctrl+V -> Save As.. -> tinypic.com

:D

#15 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:15

Under 10 seconds with SSD and Win8.

About 10 seconds with SSD and Win7.