Jump to content



Photo

Small issue with USB2 device running on USB3...


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 22 December 2012 - 13:03

Hey All,

I have an old flatbed scanner that is powered by USB2. Sadly it is not compatible with Windows 7, so because i have Windows 7 Ultimate, i have installed Windows XP Mode.

However when the scanner is plugged into a USB3 port on my PC (I only have USB3 Ports) the Windows XP Mode will not attach the scanner, it says device error.

What i have done at the moment is used an onboard USB2 connector to plug in a USB2 extension cable, one of these basically...
Posted Image


In an ideal world though, the scanner would be able to work connected to a USB3 Port, is there a certain USB3 driver i can download or update so it works with older devices better? or is it because the scanner is USB Powered, the voltage on USB3 is different?


Any help would be great,

Thanks all!

Merry Christmas :)


#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 22 December 2012 - 14:01

USB2 is back compatible with USB3. What is your scanner model?

#3 OP +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 22 December 2012 - 21:19

Its a Canon Lide 20, its a very odd problem i know!

#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:21

What are you talking about it's not supported by Win 7?

http://www.usa.canon...versAndSoftware

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:24

Good chance XP Mode does not have driver support for USB 3.0

Are you sure you don't have USB 2.0 ports? Which board do you have ?

#6 AngelGraves13

AngelGraves13

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-September 07
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:27

What are you talking about it's not supported by Win 7?

http://www.usa.canon...versAndSoftware


Maybe he's referring to 64-bit Windows, which has no support.

#7 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:33

32-bit drivers should work in 64-bit, no?

#8 joep1984

joep1984

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-June 08

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:39

32-bit drivers should work in 64-bit, no?


Nope. Drivers are not like programs.

I had an older scanner that I wanted to use with 7, and whenever I would try to install the 32bit drivers, the computer would yell at me and demand 64bit drivers, even though they didn't exist.

#9 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:40

32-bit drivers should work in 64-bit, no?


?

32bit drivers are for 32bit OSs, 64bit drivers are for 64bit OSs

#10 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 22 December 2012 - 22:44

I've used 32bit drivers on 64bit os's and they have worked. Also many Vista drivers will work on 7. I have had to do this with devices at work not officially supported. Also I am sure a quick google search will give you drivers.

#11 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 22 December 2012 - 23:03

Thank you, Firey. So I am correct.

#12 OP +Byté

Byté

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-October 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Win 7 & 2008r2
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 23 December 2012 - 20:33

Sadly the 32bit driver doesnt work on my 64bit system, i have tried getting it working many times but it just isnt compatible on each driver file i select in that Win7-32bit download.

The actual software used to scan the documents works... and that IS 32bit. However that is software.... its the actual driver thats 32bit aswell and that cannot work on 64bit.

Posted Image

#13 jordanspringer

jordanspringer

    Springster

  • Joined: 09-July 06
  • Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 23 December 2012 - 20:41

Sell it for $25 on kijiji and pick up a new one for under $75.

#14 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 23 December 2012 - 20:41

Yeah I have a LiDE 20 sitting in storage. Had no 64-bit drivers right since Vista's release and can't get them to work.

#15 helpifIcan

helpifIcan

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-September 10
  • Location: Northern Illinois

Posted 24 December 2012 - 17:23

Sold mine on Ebay and put the cash towards a new scanner.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!