Jump to content



Photo

Strange backup sizes in Time Machine


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:32

Basically I decided to try using time machine on a new USB drive, since my old one went kaput and is now in the trash.

And I noticed an odd discrepancy:

Computer:
Disk Usage on Volume HDD 101.52GB
FS: HFS+ (Journaled)

Time Machine Backup:
Backup size 126.4GB
FS: HFS+ (Journaled, Encrypted)

OSX 10.8.2

Now since Time Machine doesn't backup caches, and various other things, surely the Time Machine Backup should be SMALLER not ~20gb larger?


#2 OP Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 24 December 2012 - 10:42

Bump, anyone?

#3 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • Location: Amsterdam, NL
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 25 December 2012 - 01:20

Time Machine stores and keeps snapshots of your files each 24 hours. Obviously your backup size will start exceeding the used space on your Macintosh HD at some point. It all depends on how frequently you modify and add files.

#4 OP Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 25 December 2012 - 11:30

That's a nice theory Neo, apart from it's the first backup I've made on this disk.

#5 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • Location: Amsterdam, NL
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 25 December 2012 - 13:56

Time Machine also makes hourly backups that are deleted after 24 hours. Other than that it could be the encrypted file system, but that's just pure speculation on my part.

#6 OP Richard C.

Richard C.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-April 05
  • Location: Around
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro & Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 26 December 2012 - 11:35

If time machine takes longer than hour to complete the first backup, will it start a second backup (since you said they are hourly)?

#7 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    What the what

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.9.x iOS 7
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 07 January 2013 - 07:01

It also makes a bootable recovery (if it's the first time backing up) ...