Jump to content



Photo

How to pin "Computer" to the Windows 8 taskbar.


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 25,935 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 24 December 2012 - 18:14

In Windows 8, they REALLY don't want you to have a "Computer" icon on the taskbar. If you search for it, the only option they give you is to pin it to the start bar. If you tell it to "Show on the desktop", then right click it you only get the option to "Pin to start".

If you are like me and really miss an actual "Computer" button within reach of a single mouse click, here is how you create one.

1) Right click on the desktop and select new / shortcut
2) In the "Type the location of the item" box, enter the following

%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /E,::{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}

3) Press next.
4) For a name call it "Computer" (or what ever you want)
5) Click finish.

You should now have a homemade shortcut to computer on your desktop. This shortcut actually gives you the option when you right click it to "Pin to the taskbar".

I would recommend you go into the properties of the shortcut and change the icon to something else to your liking before you pin it. Once you get it pinned to the taskbar you can then delete the shortcut from the desktop.


#2 Kyang

Kyang

  • 1,158 posts
  • Joined: 23-November 07

Posted 24 December 2012 - 18:25

EDIT: Nevermind.

#3 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 25,935 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 24 December 2012 - 18:26

Don't you have to do this in Windows 7 too?


You could if you want, but on windows 7 you can just click "Start / computer"... So I was never really annoyed.

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 December 2012 - 18:29

Nice tip, I tried for ages to swap the libraries shortcut for a 'Computer' one but no matter what I tried I always ended up with libraries again

#5 Kyang

Kyang

  • 1,158 posts
  • Joined: 23-November 07

Posted 24 December 2012 - 18:30

You could if you want, but on windows 7 you can just click "Start / computer"... So I was never really annoyed.


Ah. I removed my post above because right after posting that, I had second thoughts about what I said, and ran to a Win7 machine to check. What annoyed me in Win7 was that fact that I couldn't pin specific locations to the taskbar. Still can't in Win8. Everything is put under the File Explorer.

#6 Mordkanin

Mordkanin

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,394 posts
  • Joined: 15-February 04

Posted 25 December 2012 - 22:46

Alternatively, to just change where that shortcut opens:

Hold down shift and right click on the explorer pinned to your taskbar.
Choose properties
Change Target to "%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /E,::{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}"

Your way also seemed to create a duplicate instance in the taskbar which was kind of annoying.

#7 Colin McGregor

Colin McGregor

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,704 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 x64, Gentoo x64 Sometimes
  • Phone: Samsung Ativ S WP8

Posted 25 December 2012 - 23:41

all I did was right click my desktop hit personalize. Click change desktop icons and checkmark computer

#8 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 25,935 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 25 December 2012 - 23:42

all I did was right click my desktop hit personalize. Click change desktop icons and checkmark computer


That works too. But I just like a single click button. One one I have to find on the desktop/

#9 Colin McGregor

Colin McGregor

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,704 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 11
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8 x64, Gentoo x64 Sometimes
  • Phone: Samsung Ativ S WP8

Posted 25 December 2012 - 23:49

You could always just set all your desktop folders to be single and not double click lol

#10 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 25,935 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 26 December 2012 - 00:08

You could always just set all your desktop folders to be single and not double click lol


I really hate peoples computers setup like that, because then you always accidentally open **** up.

#11 MorganX

MorganX

    MegaZilla™

  • 3,750 posts
  • Joined: 16-June 04
  • Location: Midwest USA
  • OS: Digita Storm Bolt, Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/Media Center Pack, Server 2k12 - Core i7 3770K/16GB DDR3/OCZ Vector 256GB/Gigabyte GTX 760
  • Phone: HTC One 64GB

Posted 26 December 2012 - 00:16

Alternatively, to just change where that shortcut opens:

Hold down shift and right click on the explorer pinned to your taskbar.
Choose properties
Change Target to "%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /E,::{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}"

Your way also seemed to create a duplicate instance in the taskbar which was kind of annoying.

You are right, but with Warwagon's way, you can change your icon. The File Explorer icon is so boring :). I actually do it your way though.

#12 -Jenks

-Jenks

    Neowinian

  • 18 posts
  • Joined: 01-April 10
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Ubuntu 12.04

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:30

@+warwagon - That's crazy useful. Thanks for the post!

#13 BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,704 posts
  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:19

Nice tip. Thanks. (Y)

It's crazy how hard they make you work for simple things like this.

#14 -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • 1,674 posts
  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:29

Good advice, but here is something from me to make it easier to remember. :)

Instead of that long string as the target you can just use these two

explorer ,0

or

explorer shell:MyComputerFolder

#15 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • 3,873 posts
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:55

Pinning n00bs should use Taskbar Pinner: http://winaero.com/c...omment.news.108