Jump to content



Photo

Setup for Gaming Laptop


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 alext591MM

alext591MM

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 27-December 12

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:43

Would someone let me know whether this would be a good set up for a gaming laptop.

PowerPro R 12:17-670 Gaming Laptop
17.3" (1920x1080) LED backlit LCD
GTX 670M 192bit w/1.5GB GDDR5
Intel Core i7-3610QM (2.3~3.3GHz) w/6M L3 Cache - 4 Cores - 8 Threads
8GB (2x 4GB) DDR3/1600 Dual Channel Memory
2 500GB SATA II 3GB/s 7,200 RPM Hard Drives in RAID 0
Built-in Bigfoot Networks Killer Wireless-N 1202 - Ultimate Gaming Card + Bluetooth 4.0 (Dual Band)
Windows 8 64-bit

$1247.24

Thanks


#2 +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:53

That looks OK, but for the price the HDD size seems to be a little on the low side. You probably won't have the same amount of games on Steam that I have to begin with, but I have 688GB worth of them from Steam and Origin, so you should look for a larger one if possible. :)

EDIT: I didn't even see the 2x by the HDD, but I'd look for a 1TB HDD with a 120GB SSD too as a boot drive and to store some games like Battlefield (which has very long load times on many HDD's).

#3 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 27 December 2012 - 01:54

As it's a dual HDD laptop, I would atleast expect to have an SSD along with a normal drive.


That looks OK, but for the price the HDD size seems to be a little on the low side. You probably won't have the same amount of games on Steam that I have to begin with, but I have 688GB worth of them from Steam and Origin, so you should look for a larger one if possible. :)


A Terabyte isn't enough for you?

#4 +Livin in a box

Livin in a box

    Oh man. I shot Marvin in the face.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-January 09
  • Location: Warrington, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 27 December 2012 - 20:19

A Terabyte isn't enough for you?

No, seeing as I use 1.7TB of space :p

#5 danny62381

danny62381

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03

Posted 27 December 2012 - 20:40

Don't waste your money on these consumer grade computers that look all neat and shiny. You can get a good commercial grade laptop for equal cost, that will blow these so called "gaming" laptops away. Look into the Lenovo ThinkPads (T or W series are their commercial grade lines), or the Dell Latitudes. You can also dock these laptops and run multiple monitors for them so that they operate just like a desktop if you want them to.

#6 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 28 December 2012 - 17:38

Don't waste your money on these consumer grade computers that look all neat and shiny. You can get a good commercial grade laptop for equal cost, that will blow these so called "gaming" laptops away. Look into the Lenovo ThinkPads (T or W series are their commercial grade lines), or the Dell Latitudes. You can also dock these laptops and run multiple monitors for them so that they operate just like a desktop if you want them to.

so there's Latitudes and ThinkPads that have a 600-series mobile GPU?

#7 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 28 December 2012 - 18:05

You can get an Asus gaming laptop for basically that same price with a better CPU, GPU, and more RAM, but they probably won't have a 2nd HDD bay. Depends what's more important to you, I guess. Also, not sure if PowerPro is a reputable brand, but Asus definitely is.

#8 danny62381

danny62381

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03

Posted 17 March 2013 - 20:51

so there's Latitudes and ThinkPads that have a 600-series mobile GPU?


Yeah, pretty much....



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!