Jump to content



Photo

Parallels 8 Question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:04

When setting up a new virtual machine in Parallels 8 for Mac, one of the screens asks about the number of CPU cores. I can't figure out if its asking how many physical cores my processor has or how many cores do I want the VM to use. Also, what about hyper threading? I got a Core i7, 4 cores w/HT....what would be the best setting when at the CPU cores screen?


#2 +virtorio

virtorio

    4089 III

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OSX 10.9, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:10

It's asking how many cores you allow the VM to use, and it can easily be changed later in the VM options dialog.

#3 OP Steve B

Steve B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-November 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:11

It's asking how many cores you allow the VM to use, and it can easily be changed later in the VM options dialog.

Ah, ok. I wasn't sure, LOL. Thanks for the input.