Photo

I have Windows Vista. Should I upgrade to Windows 8?

• Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#1 DaDude

DaDude

Neowinian

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:32

Microsoft is offering an amazing deal for Windows 8. You can upgrade for only $40 until 1/30/13. I have Vista since it came with my computer 3 years ago. I hate it because it's pretty slow and does have problems occasionally. Is it recommended that I take advantage of this offer and upgrade to Windows 8? I've never used it before so I'm not sure how much better it is than Vista.

Thanks!

#2 Crisp

Crisp

To infinity and beyond

• Tech Issues Solved: 2

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:36

Windows 8 is blazing fast compared to Vista, and a less resource hog. It would be a massive improvement for you, you'll just need to get use to the new UI. That being said, if you're having problems with your OS, a simple upgrade might not solve your issue.

And for the record, any upgrade solution of any OS would be better than Vista :p

#3 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

Neowinian Senior

• Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:37

Yes, absolutely. It's mind boggling you didn't upgrade to Windows 7, given that you have problems with Vista. What are your PC specs - maybe you can buy some parts to make your computer faster?

#4 OP DaDude

DaDude

Neowinian

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:42

What are your PC specs - maybe you can buy some parts to make your computer faster?

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor
2 GB of RAM

#5 Kaze23

Kaze23

Neowinian Senior

• Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:44

Windows 7 was the perfect upgrade to Vista. 8 is comparable in performance to 7, but as you might've seen in various threads around this forum, a lot of people get their panties in a bunch over the Start screen.

#6 seta-san

seta-san

Neowinian Senior

Posted 27 December 2012 - 19:51