Jump to content



Photo

Ram won't sit down flat in Laptop...


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Lamp0

Lamp0

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-December 08

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:47

So whilst upgrading Ram in a Laptop the latches that hold the top most ram down flat broke away so the ram stick won't sit flat. Windows recognises the Ram and it works fine, but is this something that will cause issues?


#2 Soldiers33

Soldiers33

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 06
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:56

shouldnt really the only issue I could see is that if you drop the laptop then the ram might pop out.

#3 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:11

sounds like someone was a bit too forceful when inserting the new ram - or put it in the wrong way.

anyway, as long as it's snug, i think it'll remain safe.

#4 arachnoid

arachnoid

    A day without sunshine is like night.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:14

Maybe taping it down would stop it popping out during transit.Something like double sided sticky tape may help.

#5 Hawkeye666

Hawkeye666

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 27-September 07
  • Location: USA, Mid-west, GMT -5.

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:18

Do not use duct tape. It is conductive. use a bit of electrician's tape is fine however.

#6 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro | Xubuntu | OSX Yosemite| Server 2012 R2 | Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:23

Buy some thermal pads (tacky type but not adhesive) and stack them evenly over the module until it rests flush against the closing compartment door/keyboard. Should keep things in place during use.

#7 OP Lamp0

Lamp0

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-December 08

Posted 28 December 2012 - 15:00

Thanks everyone for the help.


sounds like someone was a bit too forceful when inserting the new ram - or put it in the wrong way.


It was when I was taking it out the old ram. I don't really know how it happened as I was half awake! :pinch:


Note to self: Have morning coffee before doing ANYTHING.

#8 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 28 December 2012 - 15:16

Note to self: Have morning coffee before doing ANYTHING.


Including making coffee ;)