Jump to content



Photo

Fridge, whats more efficient, fully stocked or just what you need.


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#31 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • 2,590 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:05

firstly that's a temperature setting, unless your fridge is from like the 50's. secondly it should be set to 4 unless your fridge setting is wrong, put a thermometer in it, and set it to whatever setting gives it 4 degrees Celsius inside. in fact it's likely that when you turn "down" the fridge, you're actually setting it colder and this using more energy. depend on the manufacturer though.

either way you shouldn't adjust the setting based on the amount of food, it should be adjusted to whatever setting gives you 4 degree celsius.


The setting is called cooling power, it's not a thermostat. 1 is low cooling power, 5 is high cooling power.


#32 MikeChipshop

MikeChipshop

    Miniman

  • 6,603 posts
  • Joined: 02-October 06
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Win 8, Win 7, Vista, OSX, iOS, Android, WP8 and various Linux distro's
  • Phone: HTC 8X / Nexus 5

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:44

Mid way between the two is best. That's how convection works.

To empty and your fridge has to spend it's time cooling to much of the air, to full and there's not enough circulating air to use. Mid way allows for good air circulation plus the cooled goods to act as etc cooling blocks.

#33 Crimson Rain

Crimson Rain

    Neowinian

  • 1,179 posts
  • Joined: 29-September 12
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Lumia 1020 Yellow

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:53

But for anyone who wants to save energy, the Fridge, freezer and dishwasher are the least of your problem, the one thing that costs you most energy in your house, hot water. (provided you're the one providing the power to the water heater.

Fridges do use a lot of electricity. And oven too. But yes, hot water would use more but you don't need that all the time in every part of the world.

PS: By Fridge, I/we mean "fridge/freezer combo"

#34 WAR-DOG

WAR-DOG

    join me, I have cookies

  • 972 posts
  • Joined: 19-September 06
  • Location: Slovenia

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:02

I wonder whatever happened to this:



#35 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • 3,223 posts
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:02

Cost will greatly depend on how often and how long you have the door open also how often you change the contents.Both scenarios affect the temperature of the air contained within the fridge/freezer and thus how often the compressor has to run.You can have the most efficient unit but if you are continually doing any of the above then the costs will increase dramatically compared to a poorly rated unit that is only used once or twice a day.

#36 +Tech Greek

Tech Greek

    Neowinian

  • 613 posts
  • Joined: 22-October 08
  • Location: Shreveport, LA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:11

I'm not a Hippy, things like this don't bother me


I laughed

#37 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,390 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 30 December 2012 - 14:30

The setting is called cooling power, it's not a thermostat. 1 is low cooling power, 5 is high cooling power.


only if your fridge is 30 years old.

even fridges that "just" use cooling power as you call it has a rudimentary thermostat, it's just not a calibrated thermostat.

#38 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 December 2012 - 14:33

Probably makes no noticeable difference, empty = quicker to cool but quicker to warm up, full = longer to cool but longer to warm up

#39 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 21,390 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 30 December 2012 - 14:34

Fridges do use a lot of electricity. And oven too. But yes, hot water would use more but you don't need that all the time in every part of the world.

PS: By Fridge, I/we mean "fridge/freezer combo"

less than 400 for a freezer and fridge for a year is not a lot of electricity, it's a drop in a very big bucket compared to everything else in your house.

#40 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 December 2012 - 14:36

less than 400 for a freezer and fridge for a year is not a lot of electricity, it's a drop in a very big bucket compared to everything else in your house.


My entire house uses around £0.30p per day

My PC uses around £1-2 per day

#41 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • 62,092 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 30 December 2012 - 14:49

:) http://www.sunfrost....r_features.html

#42 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • 16,708 posts
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 30 December 2012 - 15:36

My entire house uses around £0.30p per day

My PC uses around £1-2 per day


your PC uses that much? wow... my i5 ivy bridge system which as SSD's and RAID storage systems uses a whole 13 cents a day in electric... might want to get a more efficient PSU and better CPU / Chipset

#43 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • 8,369 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 30 December 2012 - 15:46

your PC uses that much? wow... my i5 ivy bridge system which as SSD's and RAID storage systems uses a whole 13 cents a day in electric... might want to get a more efficient PSU and better CPU / Chipset


Corsair TX950
Crosshair V Formula 990FX Chipset

CPU is getting on a bit now, Phenom II 965 X4 @ 4GHz

#44 spikey_richie

spikey_richie

    XXXIII

  • 2,590 posts
  • Joined: 02-February 05
  • Location: Nuneaton, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 30 December 2012 - 16:05

only if your fridge is 30 years old.

even fridges that "just" use cooling power as you call it has a rudimentary thermostat, it's just not a calibrated thermostat.


It's a 5 year old fridge freezer actually. And i didn't say it was calibrated to +/- 0.1°C

#45 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • 16,708 posts
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 30 December 2012 - 16:08

Corsair TX950
Crosshair V Formula 990FX Chipset

CPU is getting on a bit now, Phenom II 965 X4 @ 4GHz


ah, not the most efficiient PSU and a power hungry CPU... your PSU is less then 90% efficient, I switched all my PSU's to Kingwins, drastically more efficient, don't even need fans because they run so cool due to the efficinecy