Jump to content



Photo

Show us your Servers! - 2013 Edition

servers

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 31 December 2012 - 12:23

Welcome to the server photos thread. In this thread you may post pics of your server.

Please be mindful of our members on dial-up and try to keep the dimensions of the pics and the size of the files to a respectable size for 1024 x 768 viewers. Please refrain from quoting images in your replies.

I will also ask that you link to images on your own space, as much as possible.

The usual forum rules also apply.

The last thread can be found here.


#2 ray_finkle

ray_finkle

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-March 03
  • Location: Drunksville

Posted 31 December 2012 - 13:00

Posted Image


Top 2: 2X 6 core Xeon's & 64GB of RAM
Bottom 1: 2X 4 core Xeon's 32 GB of RAM
:)

#3 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Xubuntu 14.04.1 / Server 2012 R2 / Ubuntu Server 14.04.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 01 January 2013 - 01:50

Here is my home server:


It resides next to an Xbox 360 Elite. Noise-wise it's about the same as an Xbox 360s and nowhere near as bad as it's shelf-dwelling sibling.


Recently added an extra HDD to offload the OS, Active Directory & system ISO images onto:









Specs:
Base Unit | Silverstone Grandia GD06
OS | Windows Server 2012 Standard [Hyper-V]
PSU | Cooler Master 650w
Motherboard | Acer AMD RS780
CPU | AMD Phenom X4 2.2Ghz
RAM | 8GB [4x2GB] DDR2
GFX | Nvidia GeForce GTX 650 1GB
HDD #1 | Seagate Mobile 640GB 16MB Cache SATA II
HDD #2 | Samsung Spinpoint F2 1TB 32MB Cache SATA II
HDD #3 | 2x Samsung Spinpoint F3 1.5TB 32MB Cache SATA II [Raid Stripe]
HDD #4 | 2x Western Digital Caviar Green 3TB SATA III [Raid Stripe]
LAN #1 | Marvel Gigabit Ethernet 9KB Jumbo Frame [Teamed Hyper-V Port - On-board]
LAN #2 | Realtek Gigabit Ethernet 9KB Jumbo Frame [Teamed Hyper-V Port - PCI]

USB | Fortuna MCE Remote, Xbox 360 Wireless Controller Receiver

Used for:
Active Directory, Backups, Compiling, DFS, DHCP, DC, DNS, File/Download Server, Encoding, Emulation, Hyper-V (2x Linux, 1x Windows 8 & 1x Server 2012 Standard), File Server, Media Server, Scheduled tasks, Transcoding, Visual Studio 2012 services, XBMC & probably a lot more if I sit and think about the VM's.


#4 M1cky_B

M1cky_B

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 12
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8 / Windows RT / Windows 7 / Ubuntu
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 2 / Galaxy Nexus

Posted 15 January 2013 - 06:43

My Home Server:

Posted Image

Motherboard: ASUS P8P67
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500 running @ 3.3 GHz
RAM: 16 GBytes
HDD:
  • Intel 120GB 520 SSD (Boot)
  • 4 x 2TB SATA2 Drives running in a RAID 5 array
  • 5 x 3TB SATA2 Drives running in a Windows Storage Space
Optical Drive: 2 x LG DVD Burners
Case: Coolermaster Storm Trooper
Power Supply: Thermaltake 700W TR2 BRONZE
OS: Windows Server 2012 - Standard with Essentials backup features

Uses: Active Directory, PC Backups, DNS, Torrent Client, Hyper-V (Windows 7), File Server, RemoteFX (GTX 650)

#5 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 22 January 2013 - 16:43

My Home Server:

Posted Image

Motherboard: ASUS P8P67
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500 running @ 3.3 GHz
RAM: 16 GBytes
HDD:

  • Intel 120GB 520 SSD (Boot)
  • 4 x 2TB SATA2 Drives running in a RAID 5 array
  • 5 x 3TB SATA2 Drives running in a Windows Storage Space
Optical Drive: 2 x LG DVD Burners
Case: Coolermaster Storm Trooper
Power Supply: Thermaltake 700W TR2 BRONZE
OS: Windows Server 2012 - Standard with Essentials backup features

Uses: Active Directory, PC Backups, DNS, Torrent Client, Hyper-V (Windows 7), File Server, RemoteFX (GTX 650)


What make / model is that x5 hot swap bay?

I've been looking at getting some IcyBox's, but they're so damn expensive.

Edit:- Never mind, found it; Norco SS-500

#6 Archstroke

Archstroke

    IT Graduate / ♫techno/trance enthuasist♫

  • Joined: 29-January 07
  • Location: Wolfeboro

Posted 31 January 2013 - 03:45

Posted Image

My media server
Motherboard: Dell 0GM819
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ 2.53 GHz
RAM: 3 GBytes
HDD: WD 250 GBytes
Seagate 1.5 TBytes
Optical Drives: Toshiba DVD-ROM drive
Optiarc DVD +-RW drive
OS: Windows 7

Uses: hosting media on my network for streaming, hosting a backup of my music and other files, playing media through the TV, storing backup images for my netbook and main pc

#7 Sikh

Sikh

    Neowin Addict!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 11-March 07
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7 / 10.8 / Ubuntu Server
  • Phone: Nexus 5 PA 4.4.2 / iPhone 5

Posted 31 January 2013 - 04:11

Posted Image


Top 2: 2X 6 core Xeon's & 64GB of RAM
Bottom 1: 2X 4 core Xeon's 32 GB of RAM
:)


Please tell me you dont have these at home, and if you do WHAT ARE YOU DOING WITH THEM?

But by far the most badass rack server setup.

All the other tower server setups, I like.

Ill post my rack soon, gotta actually get good pictures :whistle:

#8 trek

trek

    7 / X

  • Joined: 11-August 02
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 06 February 2013 - 05:15

Half done my Cisco Lab... Need switches.

The server is a Dell R210 ii; specs: Intel Xeon E3-1240v2, 16GB ECC RAM, 2x2TB SAS Drives. Running VMWare ESXi 5.1 with 3 or 4 VMs at a time.

Posted Image

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 06 February 2013 - 05:31

THIS IS HOW YOU SERVER

Screenshot (45).png

#10 +rdlenk

rdlenk

    Chief Lurker

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-January 05
  • Location: Pullman, Washington

Posted 06 February 2013 - 06:41

Why not,

Pano of some of the servers at work:

Posted Image

For lolz:

Posted Image

#11 ndoggfromhell

ndoggfromhell

    Master of the 6th Speed

  • Joined: 20-March 02

Posted 14 March 2013 - 20:50

Posted Image

My 6Tb Home Server. Serves all the xbox360's in the house and laptops. Neighbors connect to my wifi to stream from it... They can't get to the internet through my wifi connection.


Posted Image

I didn't do much cable management. Drives are all cool so I'm not going to bother.

#12 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 25 May 2013 - 07:48

IMG_0899.jpg my new home server, Windows Server 2012, AMD 8350 @ 3.1GHz, 24Gigs DDR3 1600, 120Gig SSD (OS) 6TB Data (3x 2TB HD).

Attached Images

  • Screen Shot 2013-05-25 at 7.43.00 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2013-05-25 at 7.43.09 PM.png


#13 Brian Miller

Brian Miller

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-December 10

Posted 25 May 2013 - 07:55

Here you go

Posted Image

/thread

#14 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 25 May 2013 - 08:08

Here you go

Posted Image

/thread


LOL what you using it for? BTW i dont need see much stroage space? using my for RasPlex.

#15 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:18

THIS IS HOW YOU SERVER

attachicon.gifScreenshot (45).png

 

Recursive virtualization? Type 1 Hypervisor running atop another Type 1 Hypervisor...

 

Was that just for show or is there a reason for the nested hypervisors?