Jump to content



Photo

automatic updating


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 02 January 2013 - 14:50

I have something on my pc that is using badwith automtically and I dont know what it is if it aint some hacker.I turned automatic updates off and I uninstalled league of legends that I cant sucessfully update and skype how do I find out what is using bandwith?


#2 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 02 January 2013 - 14:58

install comodo firewall. it will tell you what process is using bandwidth.

#3 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 02 January 2013 - 16:51

That seems a bit much for something as simple as looking at the resource monitor that is built in already.

resourcemont.png

Or just this standalone exe you could run to give you the same sort of info

http://www.nirsoft.n...affic_view.html

#4 OP damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 02 January 2013 - 18:35

hello guys I have windows xp can I check it out without installing programs.IF I have to I will but I want to make sure that it is nessary.I just lost an addinital 40 mb.If I see it taking bandwith I just disconnects.I just dont understand it

#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:12

The only thing xp can do is tell you what is currently (at the time of running the command) is running. It doesn't tell you what is taking up bandwidth. You could research what it is connecting to and guess what process is doing it but in order to be sure you need a third party app.

#6 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 02 January 2013 - 19:19

hello guys I have windows xp can I check it out without installing programs.IF I have to I will but I want to make sure that it is nessary.I just lost an addinital 40 mb.If I see it taking bandwith I just disconnects.I just dont understand it

While I can understand that you don't want to load up one program to give you that information, I would say that if the bandwidth issue concerns you that much it would be worth installing the application from Nirsoft that Budman suggested.

I'm not entirely sure why one or two programs doing an automatic update would be causing you severe issues though. Actually you didn't specifically say that it was causing you issues, just that you wanted to know what was taking up the bandwidth. I would say that installing a small application to take a look at the problem wouldn't be the worst thing in the world in order to satisfy your curiosity. ;)

#7 OP damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 02 January 2013 - 20:43

OK thanks I will install it

#8 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 02 January 2013 - 21:53

Do you have Steam or Origin? Sometimes they can auto update games without your knowledge.

At least I found that out when I was lagging on my Xbox while my PC was sleeping.

#9 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 74
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 03 January 2013 - 02:07

There is no installing of the nirsoft tool - its standalone! Just run it. But you do have to have a driver that can allow it to sniff installed, be it winpcap or the MS one, etc. etc..



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!