Jump to content



Photo

trouble with sc2


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 02 January 2013 - 21:40

I been having pernament problems with sc2.It has this laggin dragging quality.the game is playable you can say but it just annoy me so much and I cant enjoy the game if every single command has this slight lag and then it will move really fast after it fronze for a second or 2.My havesters all do this.I cant take it anymore and I have tried almost everythig

so I need some advice.I did a ping test and I select server in us which is about as far as I can get from south-africa I think and this is what I get

ping 73 ms
download speed 5.95

IF i say pernament it must be 2 weeks maybe 3.I read that you need a ping of 200 before a game becomes laggy right?and download speed is ok right.IF the game is 100% fine offline can it be something that has nothing to do with my connection?

Also I can test another isp but last time I installed another 3g modem mine stopped working.That windows was buggy so why would it do that and if it does that again can I do a system restore to fix it.last time my pc refused to pick up the modem I quess you can say.I formatted my pc just the other day i have a registry cleaner so my pc is optimized.what could be wrong?


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 02 January 2013 - 21:43

What hardware do you have in your system? (PC Specs)

Are you wired or wireless connecting to your router ?

EDIT - You're playing over 3G ?

#3 OP damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 02 January 2013 - 21:59

Here are my specs are a far as I can tell

dual core 3.2ghz 2gb rame I have a ati radeaon in the 5000 series 1024 mb.

I just uninstalled a bunch of stuff some of which I dont recognice that was propably installed by accident by my little brother.

But some of them is wamp server,my sql server internet explorer 8.anyway sc2 loads so fast now.I have this incredible boost of speed that just came out of nowhere.well nowhere but you know what I mean.I tried playing sc2 but the server just happen to be down.That suggest to me there might be problems with blizzard server because of the timing.anyway I have this great boost in speed now so I will try again tomorrow.

#4 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10

Posted 02 January 2013 - 22:02

IF the game is 100% fine offline can it be something that has nothing to do with my connection?


If the game doesn't lag (hardware lag?) / have problems playing offline, then it's your network / connection.

Also I can test another isp but last time I installed another 3g modem mine stopped working.


As asked in the second post, are you gaming over a 3G connection?

Edit:- 3G is the answer to your problem...

http://www.neowin.ne...78-3g-unstable/

#5 OP damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 03 January 2013 - 08:40

one question.IF a game works great offline but not so much online that means it is connection right?

#6 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 03 January 2013 - 08:46

one question.IF a game works great offline but not so much online that means it is connection right?

How many times do you need to be told that 3g isn't for gaming?

#7 OP damindor

damindor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-December 11

Posted 03 January 2013 - 12:08

actaully I have played over 2000 games on a 3g modem and i play guild wars 2 on a 3g modem every day.Not always perfect but works just fine most of the time.This is how I see it.

1.something is wrong with my pc either hardware or software
2.My network does not work as well as it use to or there might be problems with my network maybe something to do with the holiday season because it is a shared resource.
3.I think this is highly unlikely something is wrong on blizzard end.

what I think I am going to do is play wc3 instead for a week and then try again.I do have access to another isp modem but last time I installed it my current one stopped working so I had to reinstall windows.if the problem persist a week from now I think I might risk it my windows might have been buggy last time.If that does not work I quess I can try to format the whole thing otherwise I need to save money for more ram.If that dont work then I stop playing sc2

#8 Manarift

Manarift

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-September 11
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 03 January 2013 - 14:06

actaully I have played over 2000 games on a 3g modem and i play guild wars 2 on a 3g modem every day.Not always perfect but works just fine most of the time.This is how I see it.

1.something is wrong with my pc either hardware or software
2.My network does not work as well as it use to or there might be problems with my network maybe something to do with the holiday season because it is a shared resource.
3.I think this is highly unlikely something is wrong on blizzard end.

what I think I am going to do is play wc3 instead for a week and then try again.I do have access to another isp modem but last time I installed it my current one stopped working so I had to reinstall windows.if the problem persist a week from now I think I might risk it my windows might have been buggy last time.If that does not work I quess I can try to format the whole thing otherwise I need to save money for more ram.If that dont work then I stop playing sc2


If your playing during peek times then this will cause the issue your having for the 3g network i would consider getting a better connection.

#9 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (Android 4.4.2)

Posted 03 January 2013 - 22:49

Using a 3G connection for online gaming isn't a good idea. The biggest factor for online gaming is latency and 3G connections have very high latency (in comparison to dedicated broadband Internet connections). Even if your download and upload speeds are as high as 20 Mbps, it wouldn't make your gaming experience any better.

#10 Xoligy

Xoligy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 09-May 10

Posted 04 January 2013 - 00:00

actaully I have played over 2000 games on a 3g modem and i play guild wars 2 on a 3g modem every day.Not always perfect but works just fine most of the time.This is how I see it.

1.something is wrong with my pc either hardware or software
2.My network does not work as well as it use to or there might be problems with my network maybe something to do with the holiday season because it is a shared resource.
3.I think this is highly unlikely something is wrong on blizzard end.

what I think I am going to do is play wc3 instead for a week and then try again.I do have access to another isp modem but last time I installed it my current one stopped working so I had to reinstall windows.if the problem persist a week from now I think I might risk it my windows might have been buggy last time.If that does not work I quess I can try to format the whole thing otherwise I need to save money for more ram.If that dont work then I stop playing sc2


If your not going to listen to people in the two threads you have made then whats the point in the threads? Your not listening and saying you know the issue and its not your connection but im sorry your wrong it is your connection.

1. You are using a poor connection
2. You are playing a very popular game
3. Its a fast paced game where more units and gfx = more lag
4. More people on ur network and signals bouncing around = lag

Btw here is your other thread: http://www.neowin.ne...78-3g-unstable/
If you dont want lag do as you said in your other thread on the 19th and get ADSL otherwise live with it they are your options.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!