Jump to content



Photo

Internet access


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:04

My Datacard Mobile Broadband shows Internet access status.

But I am not getting Internet in Browser.

I tried to open google website and there is error.

what is the solution ?

OS: Windows 7 Ultimate


Posted Image


#2 Daedroth

Daedroth

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-June 11
  • Location: UK

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:07

What IP address have you been assigned?

#3 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:12

Are there other devices that connect to the Internet using the same connection? Do they connect without a problem, or is it all of your devices that cannot access the net?

#4 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:16

Are there other devices that connect to the Internet using the same connection? Do they connect without a problem, or is it all of your devices that cannot access the net?


no other device ....

I can also connect with WI-FI ....no issue.

#5 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:20

Ok, well my next question is just echoing Deadroth's question. What is the IP address that your computer is being assigned on the network?

#6 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:32

Ok, well my next question is just echoing Deadroth's question. What is the IP address that your computer is being assigned on the network?


getting IP address in ipconfig.

IP should not be posted in public forum ..is not it ?

Is there any specific digits or pattern you want me to check ? what is it ?

#7 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:45

You can post the IP address of your machine on the network without any problem. What you shouldn't do is post your Internet IP address. I would expect you to say that the IP address is 192.168.1.XXX, that's the default type of IP address for an internal network.

I'll check your reply when you post it, and if I see that you've provided your Internet IP address then I will remove it for you.

#8 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:47

getting IP address in ipconfig.

IP should not be posted in public forum ..is not it ?

Is there any specific digits or pattern you want me to check ? what is it ?


Your IPv4 address is ok to post as it's on your own private network. Most shop brought routers will have the default gateway of 192.168.1.1, 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.x.x with your DHCP set is the same range of 192.168.x.x

Can you connect to your router with your browser? Should be able to via the web address bar, by entering the IP of your default gateway.

If you can access the default admin page of your router, it will help narrow down the problem for us.

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:47

getting IP address in ipconfig.

IP should not be posted in public forum ..is not it ?

Is there any specific digits or pattern you want me to check ? what is it ?

This depends...
192.168.x.x is, 10.x.x.x, and 172.16.x.x to 172.31.x.x are all private networks. Posting them are anonymous, there is no way for anyone to find you posting those addresses, as these addresses are reserved for every private/secured network behind a nat firewall. Everyone in the world has a internal network that starts with one of these. It is the the outside IP, one that is not in one of these ranges, that could cause you trouble or allow someone to possibly identify you.

For instance my current internal ip is :

Attached Images

  • temp.jpg


#10 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 05 January 2013 - 16:54

IS there credit on the SIMCard?

Even with no credit you will still get an internet connected status, but you will only be able to browse to the ISPs site to top up

If its contract, speak to the company

#11 OP Deep_Level_Shark

Deep_Level_Shark

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 05

Posted 05 January 2013 - 17:43

my problem solved ... a simple restart worked !

just a little query ....if a machine is connected to internet ...does it have two IP ? internal and internet ? or only internet ?

#12 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 20:10

my problem solved ... a simple restart worked !

just a little query ....if a machine is connected to internet ...does it have two IP ? internal and internet ? or only internet ?

Usually of your machine is behind a router, it will have what is known as a internal ip. The router will have a public side and private side having 2 ip's on 2 very different networks. No one can cross that threshold between the outside coming in without you opening ports or having upnp enabled on your router.

There are some cases where you will get an outside ip on your computer, like connecting directly to a cable modem, connecting directly to a 3G or 4G modem (USB or PCMCIA are the common interfaces), or using dial up. These are the least secure ways of connecting to the Internet, and should have a software firewall enabled when doing so for your own protection.

It is recommended to use a router if you have dsl or cable, esp if your computer gets a Internet addressable ip.

Www.ipchicken.com will echo back your outside ip. If it is the same as your computer ip well then your computer is directly connected to the Internet.