Jump to content



Photo

Using a mac without a mouse

mac mouseless keyboard

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

#16 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:16

What if your point device breaks and you've got something important to do for your job and you can't? You'd get fired, is my guess.

Hahahaha what? You get fired if your mouse breaks? Are you 12?

If it wasn't prescribed it wouldn't be in the OS at all

It is there and available, doesn't make it prescribed. Having worked for a company that manufactures "alternative inputs for the differently abled" it's a useful hook-in for such hardware. It's certainly not how Apple (or Microsoft) prescribe the use of their OS.


#17 AshUK

AshUK

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-December 01

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:16

Someones got too much spare time on their hands, with all that spare time look up cognitive dissonance and learn a bit of psychology behind your reasoning

#18 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:17

GENIUS! Got it working.


Rather intuitive, isn't it.

#19 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:21

It is there and available, doesn't make it prescribed. Having worked for a company that manufactures "alternative inputs for the differently abled" it's a useful hook-in for such hardware. It's certainly not how Apple (or Microsoft) prescribe the use of their OS.

So you and everyone else that commented except for tiagosilva29 decided to go on a bashing spree instead of helping.
So; none of you know? And seeing as you specifically manufacture such inputs I find it disturbing you wouldn't know.

#20 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:23

I never said I didn't know. Also learn about tense. Worked. Long before I was involved with the Mac side of things. I took issue with your bs about how it makes the OS unusable, etc. Please learn to read.

Moreover, had you simply asked, you'd have received an answer quicker - but you chose to rant about something you could have simply googled...

#21 The Laughing Man

The Laughing Man

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-May 03
  • Location: Kyoto, Japan

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:32

Google search? LOL!119rjie

haha. Sorry ... what? lol.

Read the ****ing post - you can't use system preferences with a keyboard and you can't enable mouse keys without a mouse


Do you have any input on how to get mouse keys working or do you want to go away ?


I'm not the one calling it a "Horrendous OS" because I can't figure out how to use it unconventionally.

#22 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:40

I'm not the one calling it a "Horrendous OS" because I can't figure out how to use it unconventionally.

Maybe you need a bit of help;
http://support.apple...iewlocale=en_US
The OFFICIAL APPLE support page for using mousekeys, an INBUILT feature of MAC OS X. You're following it up to this point yes, a feature built in to something with a support page telling you how to use it right?
Now how do you enable mousekeys?
http://support.apple.com/kb/PH4390
Oh look, ANOTHER apple support page on how to enable mousekeys. Unfortunately this doesn't work due to 'Press the Option key five times. (You must first select “Press the Option key five times to turn Mouse Keys on or off” in the Mouse pane of Universal Access preferences.)' so I asked here about how you enable it seeing as tabbing in system preferences goes from the search box to the list on the left and then right back to the search box meaning you can't get to the checkbox on the right, then tiagosilva29 said about using CTRL + F7 - this isn't documented on any of apple's support pages.

Moreover, had you simply asked, you'd have received an answer quicker - but you chose to rant about something you could have simply googled...

I did google, quite a bit before asking here, there's an applescript that doesn't work, there's a LOT of different terminal commands - none work as they've all been removed from lion and mountain lion, please see above points. Here's the links as you're so interested;
http://efreedom.com/...erminal-Command
http://hints.macworl...060203225241914
http://apple.stackex...pplescript-or-a
http://www.mac-forum...mouse-keys.html
https://discussions....tart=0&tstart=0

#23 Alladaskill17

Alladaskill17

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:48

WTF? It's a mouse-based interface. Using Windows without a mouse is hell. Also, touchpad!

Yeah, its SO hard to hit the Windows key (Win7), type the program you need to use, hit enter to open... so hard. /s :rolleyes:

#24 +D. FiB3R

D. FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 625

Posted 13 January 2013 - 14:53

WTF?  It's a mouse-based interface.  Using Windows without a mouse is hell.  Also, touchpad!


For the most part. it's actually very easy, as long as you know what you are doing. And I don't just mean launching applications. I mean totally controlling the system.

#25 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 13 January 2013 - 15:27

But I mean within said applications. My point being, it's 100% a point'n'click gui that 99% assumes a mouse. I don't care about how easy the initial interface may be to fire up an app - the overall usage without a pointing device is not fun!

#26 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 15:40

But I mean within said applications. My point being, it's 100% a point'n'click gui that 99% assumes a mouse. I don't care about how easy the initial interface may be to fire up an app - the overall usage without a pointing device is not fun!

If it was a 100% GUI interface, single user mode wouldn't be included. OK so you never really use single user mode because it's a last resort, but that's 100% CLI driven.
I don't really care about any 3rd party apps, that's up to the developer/designer if they want to implement accessability support but to make activiating accessability support in the OS itself using programs provided with the OS... Well there is simply NO excuse for that other that being incredibly sloppy or not giving a crap.
It's like with windows - don't like/want the start menu any more so they REMOVED IT ENTIRELY and replaced it with the start screen instead of leaving in a half broken system that doesn't work and whatnot, apple left accessability in but removed methods of activating it and don't leave/give you any documentation of how to activate it.

#27 Shetland

Shetland

    Digital Artist

  • Joined: 29-July 04
  • Location: England

Posted 13 January 2013 - 15:52

Oh just grow up and switch OS' if it displeases you that much, send Apple an e-mail or alternatively make your own OS or some software that emulates a mouse.

If you're going to moan about it, at least form a cogent argument without resorting to sounding like a twelve year old, and if you ARE a twelve year old, you sound like a pretty thick one at that.

#28 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 13 January 2013 - 15:56

Oh just grow up and switch OS' if it displeases you that much, send Apple an e-mail or alternatively make your own OS or some software that emulates a mouse.

If you're going to moan about it, at least form a cogent argument without resorting to sounding like a twelve year old, and if you ARE a twelve year old, you sound like a pretty thick one at that.

I've got it up for compiling things for mac osx and no other reason.
My reason is coherant; accessability support in mac NEEDS to be accessible. Go and reread.

#29 Shetland

Shetland

    Digital Artist

  • Joined: 29-July 04
  • Location: England

Posted 13 January 2013 - 16:05

I've got it up for compiling things for mac osx and no other reason.
My reason is coherant; accessability support in mac NEEDS to be accessible. Go and reread.

You come across as a rambling fool. You could have summed up your views in a single, well formed sentence. All of the options that you would ever need for keyboard navigation are available in OS X, some may be turned off by default - fair enough - but you simply need to plug a mouse in once to enable them and then can happily use your keyboard as you wish. It, admittedly, may not be ideal to have to do so, but that should be your complaint instead.

#30 Barney T.

Barney T.

    Debian Linux: I'm Loving It!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location: Williamsburg, Virginia

Posted 13 January 2013 - 16:32

The OP's question has been answered. Now it's becoming a flamefest. Time to close this thread.

Thread Closed



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!