Jump to content



Photo

tcp/ip problems in win7


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 14 January 2013 - 22:38

My friends computer i was working on it and im able to ping yahoo and google but if i use ie or firefox the websites wont load. Not sure whats going on


#2 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA

Posted 14 January 2013 - 22:41


Have you tried "Troubleshoot Problems" when you right click on network icon in the tray? That usually does the trick.

#3 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 14 January 2013 - 23:06

Scanned for malware?

#4 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 15 January 2013 - 00:36

Whats a good malware scanner

#5 Marshall

Marshall

    ▇ ▂ ▃ ▁ ▁ ▅

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 03
  • Location: USA

Posted 15 January 2013 - 00:39

Whats a good malware scanner


Malwarebytes

#6 aessap

aessap

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 15 January 2013 - 00:39

check for proxy server setting and use malwarebytes.

#7 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 16 January 2013 - 01:30

I did the proxy server and windows network repair diag and no luck. He just got the computer from someone else and i figure a clean install was best anyways to get rid of the previous owners crap. It fixed it so something corrupted the tcp/ip files

#8 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 16 January 2013 - 07:37

Hello,

Given that this is a used computer, I would not trust any of the software on it all. Erase the hard disk drive and load a clean copy of the operating system from the manufacturer's media.

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky