Jump to content



Photo

Messed with bios, and now having problems


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 14:46

In the bios I set the hdd password and, but now I want to diable it and I don't know how, I don't see a option to disable it, just change the password. And it won't boot into Win8 I'm getting the blue screen that says Automatic repair can't repair my pc and a log file:D:\Windows\System32\Logfiles\srt\srttrail.txt.

I should of just left it alone...smh


#2 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 21 January 2013 - 14:50

change the password to blank.

#3 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 14:56

change the password to blank.


you mean just hitting enter? Because when I do that nothing changes

#4 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 21 January 2013 - 14:57

you mean just hitting enter? Because when I do that nothing changes

go to change password, delete it, then press save settings and exit (F10 on my PC)

#5 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:08

go to change password, delete it, then press save settings and exit (F10 on my PC)


Thanks a lot :) that worked

Now I need to my laptop to boot up now. what does that log file in my first post mean??

and I just noticed in cmd it says:

x:\windows\system32>

isn't it suppose to be c:\ ?

#6 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:13

^ You should be able to Change Directory to C:\ .... with the 'DOS' commands.

Unless your Windows is installed on X:\

#7 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:23

ok but can someone give a idea what this is?
Log file D:\Windows\System32\logfiles\Srt\Srttrail.txt
and how come I still can't boot into Win 8??

#8 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:28

its ok I figured it out

end thread

#9 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:40

its ok I figured it out

end thread

can you post what you did? incase anyone ever has the same error, they may be able to use your solution

#10 OP keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: Blackberry 9780, looking forward for BB10

Posted 21 January 2013 - 23:57

I had, in configuration in bios, changed the SATA Controller mode set to AHCI, changed that back to compatible, I also changed IVT to disabled , changed that back to enabled....laptop booted up.