Jump to content



Photo

Dual Monitor setup question


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:24

Currently running Windows 8, with an ATI 7970 video card.

I have a Dell U2412M which is my main monitor, hooked up DVI to my video card. I have a Samsung T260HD monitor I want to setup as a dual monitor. Would I just hook this monitor up via HDMI to my video card, and then I'm on my way to dual monitor setup? Or do I need to set it up differently


#2 shozilla

shozilla

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:29

Yes, you are able to setup that way .... Make sure to change the input source on your Samsung monitor so HDMI can go through and show your computer screen.

#3 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 21 January 2013 - 15:29

Just plug it in. Windows will take care of it from there. If not go to the "Devices" Charm, and you'll see your second monitor there.

#4 OP BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 21 January 2013 - 17:52

Thanks. Any input on how you would set up these monitors? Have the Samsung my Main (1) display, and have the dell (maybe portrait mode) as Second (2) display, off to the right?

#5 Vvo

Vvo

    nom! nom! nom! Hug a fluffy dolphin!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-November 10
  • Location: fluffyland
  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 8.1/Windows XP/ Linux
  • Phone: Samsung Vibrant (android 4.4.4 KK DU v7.7)

Posted 21 January 2013 - 17:58

open up the amd catalyst and the rest should be self explanatory (don't remember which tab specifically since it's been a 2 years since I ran dual display setup on an amd/ati gfx card)

#6 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:11

I've always right clicked the desktop, clicked on "Screen Resolution", and adjusted the settings from there.

#7 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:21

As mentioned above, it's pretty simple. I would recommend getting something like UltraMon or DisplayFusion. They have extra features to help with multiple monitors. They cost money, but useful if you regularly use both monitors.

#8 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:28

As mentioned above, it's pretty simple. I would recommend getting something like UltraMon or DisplayFusion. They have extra features to help with multiple monitors. They cost money, but useful if you regularly use both monitors.


What features do they have that Windows 8 doesn't?

#9 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:34

What features do they have that Windows 8 doesn't?


http://www.realtimes.../ultramon/tour/

I spend most of my time on the Desktop because of the stuff I use, which may not be the OP's case.

You can move Windows without dragging them, and the windows show on whichever taskbar that windows is in. Maybe Windows 8 has some new stuff I don't know about, because I haven't used it that much, but it's been great for me on Win7. Separate wallpapers. It's all in the tour.

http://www.displayfusion.com/Features/

#10 Jlobb2

Jlobb2

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 07

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:39

Thanks. Any input on how you would set up these monitors? Have the Samsung my Main (1) display, and have the dell (maybe portrait mode) as Second (2) display, off to the right?

I prefer the two monitors side-by-side configured in landscape mode. I've also used one above the other config and that just drove me nuts.

#11 Guest_xiphi_*

Guest_xiphi_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 21 January 2013 - 18:44

http://www.realtimes.../ultramon/tour/

I spend most of my time on the Desktop because of the stuff I use, which may not be the OP's case.

You can move Windows without dragging them, and the windows show on whichever taskbar that windows is in. Maybe Windows 8 has some new stuff I don't know about, because I haven't used it that much, but it's been great for me on Win7. Separate wallpapers. It's all in the tour.

http://www.displayfusion.com/Features/


Here's a post that details all the changes in Windows 8 regarding multiple monitors.

http://blogs.msdn.co...e-monitors.aspx

#12 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 21 January 2013 - 19:16

Here's a post that details all the changes in Windows 8 regarding multiple monitors.

http://blogs.msdn.co...e-monitors.aspx


Thanks for that, xiphi. I hadn't seen that before. I'll look at that more.

#13 OP BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 22 January 2013 - 01:10

Thanks. I guess I'll have to play around and see if I want them side by side, and which I want as my main / primary