Jump to content



Photo

How to maximize transfer speeds over lan


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:07

Hi,

I have a PC with Intel Gig Lan and the latest drivers. That is connected to a Cisco E2000 Gig router. I have another PC also with Intel Gig Lan and is also connected to the router. Both use high speed Gig rated Ethernet Cables, only about 15' long. Both adapters, on board, are set to force 1 Gig full duplex mode.

When transferring files from one to another, even using a fast copy program such as 'Fast Copy' I see only a max of 0.2 mbps.

What are some factors to consider in this scenario to enhance the speed of this connection. I can give any additional specs where needed.

Thanks!


#2 Packet1009

Packet1009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: Ontario

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:14

0.2 Mbps? that's sickeningly slow.

At the risk of sounding dumb, did you mean 0.2 Gbps?

#3 The2

The2

    ZOMG

  • Joined: 09-January 05
  • Location: Croatia

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:16

What are your source and destination drives? Is either of them external USB drive?
If not, its probably faulty cable..

#4 TPreston

TPreston

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-July 12
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise & Server 2012R2/08R2 Datacenter
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:22

Also the files how big are they ? A single 10gig file or thousands of small files the latter will clog even a teamed gig connection. And have you checked to ensure you are actually connected in gigabit mode using led's or connection properties.

#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 30
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:24

Try this.

use iperf to test your speed

If iperf comes up with something better than what you are seeing try a different copy method. I personally use robocopy with win 7 and 2008 r2...if you want a gui use richcopy, this is a bit buggy though but it supports a multithreaded copy which will maximize bandwidth (this works best with small files).

http://linhost.info/...erf-on-windows/

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 100
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:33

^ this!!! what does your iperf test show? BTW you should not hard code gig speeds. If it does not come up gig in auto, then something is wrong that needs to be checked before trying to hard code it to gig.

My gig tests using iperf are mid 700 mbps to low 900s

I would think you got a problem with the connection if you hard coded.

#7 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:37

0.2 Mbps? that's sickeningly slow.

At the risk of sounding dumb, did you mean 0.2 Gbps?


NO, I checked again and 'Fast Copy' shows a max transfer rate of 0.2mbs.

What are your source and destination drives? Is either of them external USB drive?
If not, its probably faulty cable..


2nd 7200 Sata drive on sending system and same on receiving. Cables were tested several weeks ago at an old employer of mine with a Fluke Ethernet Cable Tester.

#8 OP devnulllore

devnulllore

    Neowin-aholic

  • Joined: 16-November 01
  • Location: Fall River, MA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64

Posted 21 January 2013 - 16:48

Also the files how big are they ? A single 10gig file or thousands of small files the latter will clog even a teamed gig connection. And have you checked to ensure you are actually connected in gigabit mode using led's or connection properties.


Single files at a time. Tried sizes from 100mb to 4gb. All indications, on PC and Router, show I am connected at Gigabit mode.

^ this!!! what does your iperf test show? BTW you should not hard code gig speeds. If it does not come up gig in auto, then something is wrong that needs to be checked before trying to hard code it to gig.

My gig tests using iperf are mid 700 mbps to low 900s

I would think you got a problem with the connection if you hard coded.


Ok, I will try iPerf and reset to auto negotiate. I will reply with my findings.

#9 dfuk

dfuk

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-August 08
  • Location: Plymouth UK

Posted 21 January 2013 - 17:45

2nd 7200 Sata drive on sending system and same on receiving.


What speed do you get locally to and from the sata drives?

#10 +goretsky

goretsky

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-March 04
  • Location: Southern California

Posted 22 January 2013 - 03:16

Hello,

Does it make a difference if you let the NICs negotiate their own speed and duplex?

Have you tried temporarily disabling any security software like an anti-virus program or a firewall in case that is introducing a slowdown?

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky