Jump to content



Photo

New rig - SATA3 & SSD not running at full speed?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.9 Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 26 January 2013 - 08:09

Hi all.

For some time I was running an OCZ Agility 3 on a SATA2 based system. It ran fine but I knew it was not running at it's full potential.

Anyway I just upgraded to a GA-Z77-DS3H motherboard which has SATA3 so I've done a complete reinstall of Windows, put all the correct Intel motherboard drivers on, etc etc etc and found when I run HDTunePro it tells me I'm still only averaging about 190MB/sec read speed off the SSD when according to the stats on the OCZ website it should be well over double that.

Any thoughts? I used an existing 6GBps cable for the SSD, and since swapped that out for a brand new sealed one supplied with the motherboard (also stamped 6GBps) - not sure what I'm doing wrong and why it's not running at full speed :(

Thanks.


#2 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 26 January 2013 - 15:58

Do you have Trim enabled? Are you running in AHCI mode?

#3 Open Minded

Open Minded

    Balance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 14-July 11
  • Location: California

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:16

Are you using the correct port?

#4 reaper1576

reaper1576

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 02
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Centre 64bit
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 26 January 2013 - 16:23

Looking at the mobo connect it to the white connectors try different sata cables make sure ahci is on. check for new firmware for the ssd and bios updates try doing the benchmark with ATTO

#5 OP +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.9 Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 26 January 2013 - 17:13

Definitely using one of the two SATA3 ports and running in AHCI mode... Will do some more investigation in the BIOS when I get home later!

#6 OP +Chicane-UK

Chicane-UK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: The UK!
  • OS: MacOS 10.9 Mavericks
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 26 January 2013 - 21:25

OK well after trying the ATTO disk benchmark I seem to be seeing read and write speeds over 500MB/sec so I think the other benchmark just wasn't up to the job.

Thanks for the suggestion to try this tool instead :)

#7 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 26 January 2013 - 21:39

OK well after trying the ATTO disk benchmark I seem to be seeing read and write speeds over 500MB/sec so I think the other benchmark just wasn't up to the job.


Yeah, benchmark results can vary wildly.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!