Jump to content



Photo

Can't get Wubi to open under Win 7 x64

ubuntu wudi win7

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:29

Decided I wanted to dual boot using Wubi on this machine but I can't get it to open at all, I've tried the --force from Run, it just spins the timer wheel for a sec then stops

So I downloaded linuxmint and tried mint4win, I can get it to open if I run it from the desktop but it doesn't see the ISO and can't download anything on its own, and running it from the mounted ISO does the same as Wubi

Any pointers? :)


#2 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:49

Some firewall or AV/malware type program blocking it?

I just used Wubi to install Xubuntu on a customers Windows 7, 64bit machine last night. Worked fine.

#3 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 27 January 2013 - 12:54

Nothing pops up saying its blocked, I run NOD32 and logs are clear, and just the Windows Firewall

I'm trying to install the 64bit version if that makes any difference although even just running the installer from here doesn't work
http://www.ubuntu.co...ndows-installer

#4 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 March 2013 - 19:21

Bump, tried this again just now and same problem, wubi refuses to launch no matter what I try

Any ideas ?

Just tried with x64 12.10

EDIT - Fixed, checked the logs and it kept saying it was checking Ubuntu ISO on F: which is a storage drive, and the ISO was not an Ubuntu ISO... renamed to iso.old and wubi launched fine

So any non-ubuntu ISO on a root of any drive will kill wubi

#5 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 March 2013 - 20:36

Rather than make a new thread, does anyone know why my UI is laggy as if there is no driver installed under 12.10 using a 7870 ?

The drivers window says it is installed and running, but everything is slow and juddery

#6 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 03 March 2013 - 21:16

So I found this tutorial
http://wiki.cchtml.c...tallation_Guide

But I get an error part way through the creating of the .deb files (downloaded the latest beta driver as the link for 13.1 in the tutorial doesn't work so skipped the wget etc, just jumped to the .deb creating in the dir I downloaded it to)

Error I get
dh_install: fglrx missing files (arch/#SRCOTHERARCH#/etc/OpenCL/vendors/*.icd), aborting
make: *** [binary-arch] Error 2
dpkg-buildpackage: error: debian/rules binary gave error exit status 2
Removing temporary directory: fglrx-install.BpgTBX


Any help would be more than welcome


EDIT -

I managed to install the latest Beta drivers and it broke Ubuntu, it booted to the desktop without Unity, so I was left with a wallpaper and some icons,

Uninstalled Ubuntu

#7 Rablet

Rablet

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-May 04
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 04 March 2013 - 17:48

I managed to install the latest Beta drivers and it broke Ubuntu, it booted to the desktop without Unity, so I was left with a wallpaper and some icons,

I had the same happen, fixed for me by installing the headers before installing fglrx:
sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)


#8 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 04 March 2013 - 18:12

I had the same happen, fixed for me by installing the headers before installing fglrx:

sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)


I think you need the build-essential package, too, don't you?

#9 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 04 March 2013 - 18:28

Wubi is a blight on Ubuntu, IMO. It's easier to just get Linux up and running in a virtual machine than it is in Wubi.

Also, it seems there are some issues with 12.10 and it's 2D rendering speed. It's basically useless in a VM. I installed Linux mint instead and it ran perfectly fine.

#10 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 04 March 2013 - 18:29

There are some known problems with Windows 8, if you're running it.

I've also had some issues with proprietary drivers on both my ATI and Nvidia. The open source ones are the only one that would work for me. It's funny because the same proprietary drivers work fine on my Kubuntu rig.

#11 James Maple

James Maple

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 04 March 2013 - 18:36

You can boot ubuntu from a CD and if there is a 7 installation, I'm pretty sure it will ask weather to dual boot or not?

#12 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 March 2013 - 00:34

Found this guide and installed 12.10 again, this time I have a working 7870

sudo apt-get purge fglrx*
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:andrikos/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get -y upgrade
sudo apt-get --reinstall install xserver-xorg-video-intel
sudo apt-get -y install fglrx-updates fglrx-amdcccle-updates
sudo aticonfig --initial -f
https://help.ubuntu..../ATI#WORKAROUND

Seems fine apart from a logo at the lower right of the screen saying "AMD Testing use only"


EDIT - Removed the watermark using this script

#!/bin/sh
DRIVER=/usr/lib/fglrx/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so
echo "Come on AMD!"
for token in $DRIVER; do
    echo "Removing AMD logo from "$token
    for x in $(objdump -d $DRIVER|awk '/call/&&/EnableLogo/{print "\\x"$2"\\x"$3"\\x"$4"\\x"$5"\\x"$6}'); do
        sed -i "s/$x/\x90\x90\x90\x90\x90/g" $DRIVER
    done
done
echo "Reboot computer to finish"
http://askubuntu.com/questions/206558/how-to-remove-the-amd-testing-use-only-watermark

#13 +Majesticmerc

Majesticmerc

    Resident Idealist

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 24-August 05
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Arch Linux / Win 7
  • Phone: HTC One X

Posted 17 March 2013 - 00:42

Wubi really seems like more hassle than it's worth. Virtual machines ftw!

#14 OP Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 March 2013 - 00:53

Wasn't Wubi's fault, it would have happened with a normal install or dualboot

VM's are ok for testing, not so much as a serious install, I needed this for testing ubuntu touch on my tablet, adb etc, some reason I get no audio or usb with VMWare, no option to switch between host and guest OS for removable