First car: '94 4runner or '84 Camero?

Basically the situation is the title. I am a first time driver, taking the driving test in a week here or so. Everybody in my family that has evaluated me has suggested that I am ready, and my father has offered me a choice of two cars.

1994 Toyota 4runner 4WD

1984 Chevrolet Camero 6 cylinder

What I am mainly looking for in a car is gas mileage, comprehensiveness, and reliability. Both have about 170k miles on them, are in good condition (no major defects) and run well. My dad is a mechanic and will service them if I pay for the parts.

Appreciate any help in a decision here, as I am pretty torn.

do you live where it snows or ices over? If you do, the 4runner out of those choices. Gas will be a pain, but you will be able to get out of most situations. I personally wouldn't do a camaro 6 cyl even if someone gave me 10,000 a month to drive it...yea it is that crappy.

Basically the situation is the title. I am a first time driver, taking the driving test in a week here or so. Everybody in my family that has evaluated me has suggested that I am ready, and my father has offered me a choice of two cars.

1994 Toyota 4runner 4WD

1984 Chevrolet Camero 6 cylinder

What I am mainly looking for in a car is gas mileage, comprehensiveness, and reliability. Both have about 170k miles on them, are in good condition (no major defects) and run well. My dad is a mechanic and will service them if I pay for the parts.

Appreciate any help in a decision here, as I am pretty torn.

So, 3 things you won't get in the Camaro at all. though why a 4Runner ? why not a Avensis or other more sensible car. the 4runner makes sense if you need to drive around the arm and through thick snow a lot, but otherwise, a smaller Toyota makes more sense.