Jump to content



Photo

VGleaks: Orbis (PS4) Specs Unveiled


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:43

LIVERPOOL SOC

Custom implementation of AMD Fusion APU Arquitecture (Accelerated Processing Unit)
Provides good performance with low power consumtion
Integrated CPU and GPU
Considerably bigger and more powerful than AMD’s other APUs

PU:

Orbis contains eight Jaguar cores at 1.6 Ghz, arranged as two “clusters”
Each cluster contains 4 cores and a shared 2MB L2 cache
256-bit SIMD operations, 128-bit SIMD ALU
SSE up to SSE4, as well as Advanced Vector Extensions (AVX)
One hardware thread per core
Decodes, executes and retires at up to two intructions/cycle
Out of order execution
Per-core dedicated L1-I and L1-D cache (32Kb each)
Two pipes per core yield 12,8 GFlops performance
102.4 GFlops for system



GPU:

GPU is based on AMD’s “R10XX” (Southern Islands) architecture
DirectX 11.1+ feature set
Liverpool is an enhanced version of the architecture
18 Compute Units (CUs)
Hardware balanced at 14 CUs
Shared 512 KB of read/write L2 cache
800 Mhz
1.843 Tflops, 922 GigaOps/s
Dual shader engines
18 texture units
8 Render backends



Memory:

4 GB unified system memory, 176 GB/s
3.5 available to games (estimate)



Storage:

- High speed Blu-ray drive

single layer (25 GB) or dual layer (50 GB) discs
Partial constant angular velocity (PCAV)
Outer half of disc 6x (27 MB/s)
Inner half varies, 3.3x to 6x



- Internal mass storage

One SKU at launch: 500 GB HDD
There may also be a Flash drive SKU in the future



Networking:

1 Gb/s Ethernet, 802.11b/g/n WIFI, and Bluetooth



Peripherals:

Evolved Dualshock controller
Dual Camera
Move controller



Extra:

Audio Processor (ACP)
Video encode and decode (VCE/UVD) units
Display ScanOut Engine (DCE)
Zlib Decompression Hardware


Source: http://www.vgleaks.c...orbis-unveiled/


#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:49

already posted like 4 days ago http://www.neowin.ne...new-controller/

#3 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:50

That's the devkit.

These seem to be the final specs.

18CUs, hardware balanced at 14CUs?

Looks like they might be disabled for yield.

How can they get 1.8TF from 14CUs at 800?

#4 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:52

already posted like 4 days ago http://www.neowin.ne...new-controller/


I'm forgetful at times, but I wouldn't repost the same thing twice :p

#5 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:54

That's the devkit.

These seem to be the final specs.

either way, i just want the dang thing to be released already :p

I'm forgetful at times, but I wouldn't repost the same thing twice :p

lol now I feel derp :rofl:

#6 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:37

UPDATE: some people is confused about the GPU, here you have more info about it:

Each CU contains dedicated:

- ALU (32 64-bit operations per cycle)

- Texture Unit

- L1 data cache

- Local data share (LDS)

About 14 + 4 balance:

- 4 additional CUs (410 Gflops) “extra” ALU as resource for compute

- Minor boost if used for rendering

Dual Shader Engines:

- 1.6 billion triangles/s, 1.6 billion vertices/s

18 Texture units

- 56 billion bilinear texture reads/s

- Can utilize full memory bandwith

8 Render backends:

- 32 color ops/cycle

- 128 depth ops/cycle

- Can utilize full memory bandwith


Source: http://www.vgleaks.c...orbis-unveiled/

#7 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:40

Wish they would get someone who was at least proficient in English.

So its an 18CU GPU but only 14CUs are the actual GPU cores, the extra 4CUs are just APUs for physics and the like?

#8 Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 28 January 2013 - 19:25

Wish they would get someone who was at least proficient in English.

So its an 18CU GPU but only 14CUs are the actual GPU cores, the extra 4CUs are just APUs for physics and the like?

I'm guessing the extra compute units can be used to process physics or assist in rendering. I was under the impression that it would have 18 compute units and something extra for physics. The dedicated audio processor is nice but the memory bandwidth is lower than the dev kit (192 GB/s vs. 176 GB/s).

The rest of the GPU specs don't make any sense. How can it only have 18 texture units and 8 raster opreations pipelines? It should be 72 texture units and 32 ROPs.

#9 OP Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 28 January 2013 - 19:41

I'm guessing the extra compute units can be used to process physics or assist in rendering. I was under the impression that it would have 18 compute units and something extra for physics. The dedicated audio processor is nice but the memory bandwidth is lower than the dev kit (192 GB/s vs. 176 GB/s).

The rest of the GPU specs don't make any sense. How can it only have 18 texture units and 8 raster opreations pipelines? It should be 72 texture units and 32 ROPs.


Apparently

attention: for some reason the ROPS and the texture units are devided by 4.

8 backends x 4 ROPs per backend = 32 ROPs.
18 texture units * 4 = 72 texture units.



#10 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 February 2013 - 14:42

Ouch, VGLeaks just detailed the Durango GPU.

If the specs are true it only has 16ROPS compared to Orbis 32ROPS.

Again assuming this is all true then PS4 is going to be lead platform this year.