Jump to content



Photo

Run Android & Android Apps NATIVELY on Windows (no, not bluestacks)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:54

Posted Image

Ladies and gentlemen. We can now run Android and Android apps natively on Windows. This is NOT through bluestacks, which virtualizes Android. This is native. Therefore, you will see a MUCH faster performance gain. Here's the link to more information:

Click here for more info via Pureinfotech


#2 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:55

This was posted the other day mate

Click Here

It was the second search result for "windows android" on Neowin. Always search before posting ;)

#3 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 28 January 2013 - 17:59

Yup, Detection posted that.

#4 OP Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:04

Oh, I'm sorry. I didn't notice that. There are so many forums at neowin, I guess I should have searched for the term. Sorry for the mishaps, folks. :(

#5 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:28

Well I have a question, since the post exists.

Why would one want to run Andriod apps within Windows? I see the potential but maybe I am too short-sighted to see what Andriod can do better than Windows.

EDIT: p.s. I like my Andriod phone and this is not hate for Andriod just wondering what Andriod can do vs a Windows native application - perhaps cost savings?

#6 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:34

Well I have a question, since the post exists.

Why would one want to run Andriod apps within Windows? I see the potential but maybe I am too short-sighted to see what Andriod can do better than Windows.

EDIT: p.s. I like my Andriod phone and this is not hate for Andriod just wondering what Andriod can do vs a Windows native application - perhaps cost savings?

the most obvious thing would be for app development. i'm sure there could be other uses as well

#7 fusi0n

fusi0n

    The Crazy One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:38

Thanks for sharing this! This is great!

#8 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 28 January 2013 - 18:44

This would be good more for app developers or just geeks who want to mess around. There really is nothing for average Windows users here, though if MS did somehow make Windows 8 and more so RT be able to run Android apps on the start screen that would be a bonus. For now if you have a new tablet and the windows store, being new, doesn't have what you want then this works as a stopgap IMO.

#9 tim_s

tim_s

    Default

  • Joined: 07-January 13
  • OS: OSX (Macbook Pro i7), Windows 7 (Gaming), Gentoo
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII, iPhone 4s

Posted 28 January 2013 - 21:35

the most obvious thing would be for app development. i'm sure there could be other uses as well


I agree, but do they not have a SDK that already does this for you which is officially supported?

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 28 January 2013 - 21:57

I agree, but do they not have a SDK that already does this for you which is officially supported?

yes but it's very poorly done and slow