Jump to content



Photo

Installing Ubuntu on iMac to play WC3?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 crazzy88ss

crazzy88ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-July 05
  • Location: CA, USA

Posted 29 January 2013 - 00:00

Hello,

Long story short, I'm stuck with a Mac OSX 10.8 installation and do not have my iMac's original DVDs to install 10.6, which is required to install WC3 and SC1. Then I thought I could install another OS! I don't want to pay for W7/W8, so why not linux?

I've never touched linux. :cry:

Is this something that'd be relatively easy? (Is this more appropriate for the Apple forum?)


#2 einsteinbqat

einsteinbqat

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-May 02

Posted 29 January 2013 - 00:17

Do you have any friend who has a 10.6 installation? You could log in to your Battle.net, download the game client, install the game on that friend's computer, patch everything, and then copy everything over to 10.8.

Or you could use Wineskin, I read.

http://marzzbar.word...-mountain-lion/

Good luck.

#3 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 29 January 2013 - 01:25

If you do decide to jump ship, WarCraft III and The Frozen Throne both run well in OpenGL mode for Ubuntu 12.10 x64. I can't speak for StarCraft though.

#4 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Mint Debian LMDE
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 29 January 2013 - 01:53

Says for both games on WineHQ works flawlessly.

#5 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 29 January 2013 - 02:30

Ubuntu is definitely a good choice for someone who has never used Linux before, but be warned that you may have more problems than if you installed Ubuntu on a standard (non-Apple) PC. Apple's firmware is notoriously buggy and often causes problems in this regard.

The best idea is probably to dual-boot OS X and Ubuntu until you get more comfortable with the system. You can use the standard Boot Camp utility built into OS X to install Ubuntu. From OS X's perspective, installing Ubuntu is exactly the same as installing Windows. There is an excellent install guide on Ubuntu's website that I highly recommend you read. It will walk you through the installation.

#6 OP crazzy88ss

crazzy88ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-July 05
  • Location: CA, USA

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:18

Yea, I'd make a ~100gb partition and dual boot the two OSs.

I wasn't sure if WC3 was one of those apps were you could simply drag & drop it; thanks for the idea. I'll see if it works with my girlfriend's macbook that's still on 10.6.

If not... I'll be back :p

#7 Slacker

Slacker

    Student of sorts

  • Joined: 04-December 01

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:24

I run StarCraft using winebottler. It works without any problem in OS X 10.8. I didn't have too difficult a time getting it set up.

#8 fusi0n

fusi0n

    The Crazy One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5S 64GB

Posted 29 January 2013 - 03:30

Another vote for wine

#9 OP crazzy88ss

crazzy88ss

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-July 05
  • Location: CA, USA

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:03

The "copy paste" thing worked fine for WC3, not sure why SC1 didn't work, but I'll look into Winebottler, thaks!

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:08

^ instead of winebottler (not updated anymore i believe) check out PlayOnMac
it's built on Wine and if the game is popular (with the games you want to play are) it should be in the repository and will install an instance of the version of wine that has been tested and found to work best for that specific game. meaning a better over all performance for you

play on mac is a lot easier to use than straight wine for mac as well

#11 keuka

keuka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • Location: United States of America

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:45

Can you use PlayOnMac or WineSkin as an alternative method / rout? I know I have a lot of Windows Games ported to my Mac using WineSkin; not sure about the linux side of things. Or how about a Virtual Machine like VirtualBox?

#12 keuka

keuka

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-August 05
  • Location: United States of America

Posted 31 January 2013 - 05:51

I'm playing Diablo I and Diablo II using WineSkin.

#13 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: OS X Mavricks, Windows 7/8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 05 February 2013 - 18:11

any luck with your games Crazzy?

#14 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 05 February 2013 - 18:26

those games are so undemanding you could probably run them perfectly fine with ubuntu in a VM as well.

#15 Pam14160

Pam14160

    Lee

  • Joined: 12-November 07
  • Location: Idaho

Posted 05 February 2013 - 18:41

Think "Virtual Machine." Parallel should work well with any OS, or there is Virtual Box then there is no need to dual boot. . . :D



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!