You know all my SF friends are asking these questions-- If a guy catches a ball then rolls on his back to his knees, then isn't that a down. And They are also forwarding the "holding" of the player that missed the catch. Asking "HOW COULD THEY NOT MISS THAT CALL"
To me I think it was genius to give the safety away... I mean give them 2 points so they won't score 6 (with the almost always 1 extra point or the conversion) so you don't have to punt which usually ends somewhere before the 40 yard line in order to be able to kick it from the 20 yard line to get them to start at the 50 yard line... now that was priceless.
Personally I didn't even follow the season nor did I know who was playing until yesterday.
But then again -- Still don't know why the lights went out.....
To be considered down, first and foremost, you have to be touched by an opposing player. If you go down on your own, tripping, and whatnot, you can get back up and continue running. An opposing player from the other team must either touch you while you are down, or while you are going down, or cause you to go down for it to end the play. This is the professional rule. In college if a player goes down no matter what he is down.
If any part of your body besides your hands or feet touch the ground, and an opposing player has touched you, or brought you down, that is considered a down.
Technically that last desperate play was holding, but on the contrary, the receiver was pushing off of the other guys helmet. If anything it would have been offsetting penalties and a repeat of the down. But honestly, I am glad the refs didn't call it. It was nice to see the refs let the players just play this game. There wasn't much in the penalties department tonight, unless they were blatantly obvious and unquestionable.