Jump to content



Photo

Corsair 700/800D - USB3


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 06 February 2013 - 11:17

I'm thinking about buying this case but quite shocked that Corsair hasn't released it with USB3 yet. I've seen there is a kit you can order to convert it to USB3, however it then has to plug at the back of your motherboard which seems silly :(

The motherboard I'd be buying is the Sabertooth Z77.

Is there anyway around it, or just wait until they revise it?


#2 Jub Fequois

Jub Fequois

    Owlblood

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows, OS X
  • Phone: Galaxy S4

Posted 06 February 2013 - 11:41

I'd take a look at Lian-Li and Silverstone cases too. I'm sure you have already though, considering the amounts of money you're about to spend.

And there's no way around it either than what you've already said: either wait until they revise it or buy the upgrade kit. You can probably perform surgery on it on your own, but that's entirely up to you.

#3 Tom

Tom

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 06 February 2013 - 12:49

Personally I'd just convert it. Corsair make some fantastic cases and whilst I'm surprised they haven't jumped on the USB 3.0 bandwagon yet, the quality and overall awesomeness of their cases definitely make up for the lack of USB 3.0 support imo.

I have a Bitfenix Raider and it has four USB 3.0 ports on it, sadly my motherboard only has one USB 3.0 header. :cry:

#4 HoochieMamma

HoochieMamma

    Professional Hoochie™

  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Melbourne, AU
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 06 February 2013 - 12:56

The 800D according to their site has 2x USB 3 ports?

Personally my new rig will be a 650D, love that case look!

#5 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:25

i have the Corsair 500R, and it has 2 USB3.0 headers on the front of the case. The case is just awesome. i highly recommend it.

#6 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:28

Personally I'd just convert it. Corsair make some fantastic cases and whilst I'm surprised they haven't jumped on the USB 3.0 bandwagon yet, the quality and overall awesomeness of their cases definitely make up for the lack of USB 3.0 support imo.

I have a Bitfenix Raider and it has four USB 3.0 ports on it, sadly my motherboard only has one USB 3.0 header. :cry:


haven't yet? I have a Corsair Obsydian 500D case and it has USB3 ports on the front stock and internal USB3 header MB plug

#7 OP Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:55

I'm getting confused with this usb3 headers, I've not touched anything usb3 yet so unsure.

Am I right in thinking if I buy the upgrade kit from corsair, then plug them into http://www.gamersdai...b3-internal.jpg and the other end into the 1 usb header on the sabertooth z77, all is well?

I've looked at Lian Li, but the only case I like the look of is around £350 which is a little too much

#8 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 06 February 2013 - 14:07

Dan - i dont think i'm following you, and that image wont load on my work network. my case already had the native USB3.0 cable 'tied' to the USB3.0 headers. i had to use the included USB3-to-2 conversion cable to plug into my motherboard as mine does not have usb3.

can you explain a bit further?

#9 OP Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 06 February 2013 - 14:14

Well from what I gather the usb 3 kit from corsair has 1 or 2 usb 3 leads, which need to be routed through the case out the back then into the rear usb 3 ports

or

I buy this http://www.aliexpres.../691958213.html which I believe plugs into the usb 3 header on the motherboard, then it says routing it through the motherboard to the rear ports

#10 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 06 February 2013 - 14:19

that image appears to just be some cable that provides 2 ports. the wide plug goes into the usb3 header on the motherboard, then that provides you w/ 2 ports. i dont think they will attach to the case anywhere, though.

(edit) actually, from the Sabertooth image on Newegg, i dont see any usb3 header on the motherboard. i see the 4 rear ports, but no header. am i wrong?

#11 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 06 February 2013 - 16:03

if you have a wide blue plug like that, its a USB3 header

that plug just turns the USB3 header into two USB SS ports (SuperSpeed)


why don't you just go with a Corsair Obsidian Series 550D? it's awesome, and similar in design and has USB3 ports on the front and costs a lot less

the 700D has been discontinued

#12 OP Dan~

Dan~

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 21-May 03

Posted 06 February 2013 - 18:43

http://www.centrecom...03-14.03.58.jpg thats the usb 3 header on the z77.

I was looking at the 550d but not big enough for my greed

#13 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 06 February 2013 - 19:00

http://www.centrecom...03-14.03.58.jpg thats the usb 3 header on the z77.

I was looking at the 550d but not big enough for my greed


not big enough? The case is HUGE *lol* I was shocked at how big it was when I got it

#14 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 06 February 2013 - 20:22

http://www.centrecom...03-14.03.58.jpg thats the usb 3 header on the z77.

I was looking at the 550d but not big enough for my greed

so you wouldnt need that cable kit or whatever it was. whatever case you buy will have a cable from the front USB3 ports that plugs into the header on your motherboard.

the 550D is pretty big..not sure how much bigger you'd want to go.

#15 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 06 February 2013 - 20:25

so you wouldnt need that cable kit or whatever it was. whatever case you buy will have a cable from the front USB3 ports that plugs into the header on your motherboard.

the 550D is pretty big..not sure how much bigger you'd want to go.


yeah it's definatly big, it was a good 6 inches longer and 5 inches higher and almost 2 inches wider than my previous case, which I thougth was big also



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!