Jump to content



Photo

Sound card Advice.

soundcard

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 -Deleted-

-Deleted-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:07

Hey guys i need a hand choosing a sound card and also whether i need one or not.

I have this Motherboard -
http://www.asus.com/...8Z77V/#overview

I'm currently using an optical cable from the onboard optical to my 5.1 Panasonic surround sound - http://www.panasonic...l?view=&angle=1

Now this is where my lovely setup falls flat on its face...The surround sound only picks up 2 channel, Opening the sound settings on the computer and checking the properties of the Optical output I can only select 2chnl outputs.

Will a new sound card solve this problem? I've been looking at the Asus ones as I'm a big fan of their stuff, ideally below £40 (lower the better) Also would that give me 5.1 output to my surround sound receiver so that i can play games in 5.1/watch movies to their full potential?

Thanks

Dave.


#2 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:21

Do you have any settings in the sound card software to "bypass" and allow the Panny to decode it for you (instead of the onboard sound outputting 2.0)

See if you can find this on your software...

DTS Connect

Posted ImageExpand Your PC Audio Experience
To get the most out of your audio entertainment across all formats and quality levels, DTS Connect combines two enabling technologies. DTS Neo:PC™ upmixes stereo sources (CDs, MP3s, WMAs, internet radio) into as many as 7.1 channels of incredible surround sound. Consumers can then connect their PC to a home theater system.DTS Interactive is capable of performing multi-channel encoding of DTS bitstreams on personal computers, and sending encoded bitstreams out of a digital audio connection (such as S/PDIF or HDMI) designed to deliver audio to an external decoder.

#3 OP -Deleted-

-Deleted-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:26

I have Realtek HD Audio manager installed, but the settings are weak, Not really sure how to use the software :s

#4 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:35

I have Realtek HD Audio manager installed, but the settings are weak, Not really sure how to use the software :s


You might be out of luck for games / movies that don't have a true DTS source.

http://www.tomshardw...2-spdif-windows

#5 OP -Deleted-

-Deleted-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:45

http://i45.tinypic.com/35mjts2.jpg

That's the settings i have...

#6 lunamonkey

lunamonkey

    Ten years on Neowin.

  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Swindon, England

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:47

What's the option spanner, bottom right?

#7 OP -Deleted-

-Deleted-

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-March 09

Posted 06 February 2013 - 13:54

http://i48.tinypic.com/2retaol.jpg

Thats the only options it gives :s

#8 technician27

technician27

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-February 13

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:16

If you want high quality sound for games and movies you need sound card and you will see how much is the difference. I dont know how much you want to spend but check this 2 sound cards
CREATIVE SB RECON3D PROFESSIONAL PCI-E Sound Card

ASUS SOUNDCARD XONAR DS. PCI. DTS CONNECT DS3D GX FOR GAMING Mfr part : XONAR DS/A

#9 Jason Stillion

Jason Stillion

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-April 12
  • Location: United States

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:19

If you want high quality sound for games and movies you need sound card and you will see how much is the difference. I dont know how much you want to spend but check this 2 sound cards
CREATIVE SB RECON3D PROFESSIONAL PCI-E Sound Card

ASUS SOUNDCARD XONAR DS. PCI. DTS CONNECT DS3D GX FOR GAMING Mfr part : XONAR DS/A


Creative is releasing there new Sound Blaster Z line of cards to replace the Recon3d cards.

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:26

The best thing is DAC and good rec. and speakers or studio monitors.

#11 +zhiVago

zhiVago

    World Citizen

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Novorossiya
  • OS: Windows Seven

Posted 13 February 2013 - 13:17

Now this is where my lovely setup falls flat on its face...The surround sound only picks up 2 channel, Opening the sound settings on the computer and checking the properties of the Optical output I can only select 2chnl outputs.


This problem was my nemesis too for the longest time.

From my experience, the optical output can only pass-through an already existing multichannel sound - a stereo signal would always come out as stereo on my Pioneer Elite A/V no matter what I tried to do.

I solved the problem by installing Asus Xonar HDAV Deluxe card and by using the HDMI output specifically.

I can now play any stereo file on the PC and the Asus Xonar converts it on-the-fly to any multichannel format - DTS, Dolby, 5.1 or 7.1! - but it does so only with the HDMI output; using the optical cable, this card behaves as the others I owned before it.