Jump to content



Photo

Simcity 5 Beta 2


  • Please log in to reply
93 replies to this topic

#31 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:34

They are MUCH larger in the retail game.


#32 dafin0

dafin0

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-March 09
  • Location: Australia

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:39

They are MUCH larger in the retail game.

where did you hear that? from what i have been told they are all the same size.

#33 F_C

F_C

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 09

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:40

Please don't lecture me about NDA's,



The NDA specifically says you can take screenshots/videos/etc and post them on forums. Seriously.

#34 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:46

i hope some feature from SC 2000 that omited in SC 4 make a came back.
waterfall, hydro power-plant, etc ....

#35 team_NOOB

team_NOOB

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-September 06
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:14

Yeah I heard the maps were 2km by 2km but that can't be right. Going to re-watch the dev interviews tomorrow to double check.

Anyone know if you can access your city from multiple devices and on multiple OS's? I know SC5 for mac won't be released right away - but haven't been able to find anything about cross-platform gaming.

#36 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:33

where did you hear that? from what i have been told they are all the same size.

Ryan Davis from Giantbomb said that he played it at a Maxis event and that the maps were much bigger.

#37 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 17 February 2013 - 14:02

Yeah I heard the maps were 2km by 2km but that can't be right. Going to re-watch the dev interviews tomorrow to double check.

Anyone know if you can access your city from multiple devices and on multiple OS's? I know SC5 for mac won't be released right away - but haven't been able to find anything about cross-platform gaming.


Origin syncs your saves to their servers, just as steam does :)

#38 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8.x
  • Phone: iPhone 6 Plus 64GB

Posted 17 February 2013 - 14:10

^ not so much that it syncs... it's always online so it's saved to the servers with a local backup

#39 BoDEAN

BoDEAN

    REDHead

  • Joined: 04-May 04
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Iphone

Posted 17 February 2013 - 14:11

Beta was too short to really get a feel and enjoy. Really, just ONE HOUR of play?

#40 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 17 February 2013 - 14:14

You can play it multiple times

#41 team_NOOB

team_NOOB

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-September 06
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Posted 17 February 2013 - 21:35

Origin syncs your saves to their servers, just as steam does :)

^ not so much that it syncs... it's always online so it's saved to the servers with a local backup


Thank you!

Beta was too short to really get a feel and enjoy. Really, just ONE HOUR of play?


Do like what one of the previous posters said and get a loan - it helps you spec up really quickly so you can try more stuff.

But yeah still pretty short..

#42 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA

Posted 17 February 2013 - 22:04

Is this game strictly online, or both on and offline? Or what?

#43 DrakeN2k

DrakeN2k

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-December 10

Posted 17 February 2013 - 22:29

its online , you need to log in to play

#44 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:18

i hope some feature from SC 2000 that omited in SC 4 make a came back.
waterfall, hydro power-plant, etc ....


They likely will - however, wind power is not a bad alternative for the green-power brigade.

I was in both closed betas, and based the core of my power grid on wind - a first for me in any city sim (I go back to SC2000 Unlimited, which also had wind as an option; however, the power output was so poor, I usually went oil or even nuclear, even from the jump). The biggest surprise (for me) was that wind in both closed betas was priced cheaper than coal - both on a straight-cost basis and per-BTU; that just plain boggled me. However, I can take YES for an answer.

Still, I'm wondering if the sandbox mode allows pricing adjustment - I want to use sandbox to do some real-world *mirror models*, and I already know that the wind pricing model is unrealistic (it doesn't match up with real-world costs).

#45 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:28

Beta was too short to really get a feel and enjoy. Really, just ONE HOUR of play?


Both betas were more to test the back end, as opposed to full-up tests of everything. (Remember, a lot of options were walled off, and you couldn't even build high schools.)

However, in both betas, I still managed to get a lot done in those hourly sessions.

My quibbles don't even have to do with what was available (or not), but the oddities of cost bases - especially wind power.

Because of the in-game costs, wind is actually impossible to ignore for new mayors - it is cheaper than (surprisingly) coal. That HAS to be a design decision - the only way THAT happens in reality is due to bureaucratic fiddling (such as what the PRC is trying to do internally, in addition to the EU and US). Even with the environmental-mitigation costs of coal and oil (never mind those of even conventional nuclear), wind (on nearly ANY scale) would not undercut any of those others - let alone all. Has anyone else noticed any other quirks?