Jump to content



Photo

Question about speed if a router and 1GB switch is connected


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Ripcord

Ripcord

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 13

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:19

I have a DSL router provided by my ISP and here is the spec http://www.wikidevi.com/wiki/Alice_IAD_WLAN_4421

I bought a NAS and I wanted to buy a 1GB switch to enable faster data access within my network

I am wondering if I connect the 1GB switch to my router (10/100) & NAS to the swtich would I still get high speed of the swtich


#2 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:23

Anything connected via ethernet to the switch would be able to communicate with the NAS at 1Gbps, but if your router is also a wireless router than 100Mbps is the maximum speed any wireless device would be able to communicate with the NAS. The slowest link along the path between the two devices will dictate the maximum speed.

#3 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:23

If the interconnect is through the switch, then yes, you will get the Gigabit connection. If not, then you will get 100Mbps. For example, if both your computer and your NAS is on the switch, then that's full speed. If your computer is on the switch, and the switch is connected to your router, and the NAS is also on the router, then it will be 100Mbps.

#4 OP Ripcord

Ripcord

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 13

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:29

My laptop is & will be using the WLAN from router but I plan to connect the NAS to switch

#5 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 16 February 2013 - 20:32

If the Machine & NAS are wired to the switch, then Gigabit if machine has Gigabit LAN otherwise will run at slowest interface speed

If you have to go through the router, then 100mbps, unless wifi, then however fast your wifi is, 54/65/150/300mbps

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:02

kind of hard to be 150/300mbps if the lan ports are 100 ;)

I don't understand the point of trying to say your wireless is 300 when it only has ports that are 100 -- your getting 300 to what? Sure and the hell is not going to be another wireless client because that is /2 automatically..

If you going to be connecting via wireless, what point is the gig switch? Might as well just connect it to your 10/100 ports on your router.

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:04

kind of hard to be 150/300mbps if the lan ports are 100 ;)


:laugh: a valid point, doh

#8 OP Ripcord

Ripcord

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 13

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:05

kind of hard to be 150/300mbps if the lan ports are 100 ;)

I don't understand the point of trying to say your wireless is 300 when it only has ports that are 100 -- your getting 300 to what? Sure and the hell is not going to be another wireless client because that is /2 automatically..

If you going to be connecting via wireless, what point is the gig switch? Might as well just connect it to your 10/100 ports on your router.


The point is that I wanted to enable fast data transfer over the network & I was thinking connecting the NAS to a 1GB Switch and then the switch on to my existing router (which is 10/100)

#9 mrp04

mrp04

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-June 04

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:07

My laptop is & will be using the WLAN from router but I plan to connect the NAS to switch


If you want to maximize the speed over WiFi then you will need a new wireless router with gigabit ethernet ports.

The maximum speed any communication between the router (10/100) and the switch (10/100/1000) will be 100mbps.

#10 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:09

The point is that I wanted to enable fast data transfer over the network & I was thinking connecting the NAS to a 1GB Switch and then the switch on to my existing router (which is 10/100)


The point is, no matter what setup you create, your data transfer will be only as fast as the slowest port/interface it has to travel through

My attempt explaining in paint

Posted Image

#11 OP Ripcord

Ripcord

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 13

Posted 16 February 2013 - 21:30

Thank you. Detection

Picture speaks 1000 words

#12 +PeterUK

PeterUK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-March 07

Posted 16 February 2013 - 23:07

So that GIGABIT PC has two NIC's (pic above)? You could just connect the PC to the 1Gb switch seeing that it connects to the 100Mb router?

#13 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 16 February 2013 - 23:36

So that GIGABIT PC has two NIC's (pic above)? You could just connect the PC to the 1Gb switch seeing that it connects to the 100Mb router?


The picture was showing (in a visual form) the types of speeds you'd get if either connection was used.

#14 UseLess

UseLess

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 24-July 04
  • Location: Australia, West Coast

Posted 16 February 2013 - 23:43

When a WIRED router says it is 100mbps, you'll reliably get roughly 10MB/sec. When a WIRELESS router says 300mpbs, you won't get anywhere near 30MB/sec. As an example, on wireless 300N connecting to my laptop sitting next to my router, i get a whopping 3-4MB/sec (admittedly, that is quite bad...). And no, there aren't 50 other people sharing the wireless, nor clogging the frequency. (see various sources about wireless 'overheads')

The point of all this? Do not feel like your wireless is being "wasted" by only having a 100mbps wired connected to a 300mbps wireless. Your wired likely still as a lot more "application layer" throughput.

#15 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 101
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:57

"When a WIRELESS router says 300mpbs, you won't get anywhere near 30MB/sec."

Completely and utterly agree with you!! Then they shouldn't report it as such! Just like when they say 54mbit for G, at best you get about 23mbit or about 3MBps

Its pure marketing nonsense how they report wireless RAW total bandwidth, while in wireless there is a **** load of overhead! So if you head over to smallnetbuilders wireless benchmarks N at 40mhz your looking at like 60mbps tops which ok your 100mbit wire can handle.

My point is they are putting 300Mbps on the box -- when clearly that can not be the case if the wire connections are only 100 ;) Who are they thinking they are fooling?

Also to the OP, unless your going to be connecting something else to the gig switch that can do gig, there is NO point to getting it for your nas if then connecting that to a 100mbit switch on your router and your using wireless anyway.

I would wait to get the switch until you have have other devices connecting at gig. Or you move to a wireless speed that is over 100mbit, ac is out there for example. Some of the 3 stream N can get over 100. But then your going to need another wireless router.. Which will prob have gig lan ports.

To be a bit clearer Detections drawing should of shown a gig connected pc and a 100mbit connected pc vs just the one with both connected and wireless client.

Think of it as a road connecting the devices - if at any point there is a lower speedlimit, then that is the fastest you can go on that path even if part of the path is faster. Example you have a 10/1 mbit internet connection 10 down and 1 up.. Does not matter if your computer was connected to router at 10Gb fastest your going to download is 10mbit