Jump to content



Photo

How To Make Emblem Smaller And Pixel Perfect?

photoshop

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 17 February 2013 - 00:12

My emblem, XXIV, is something I've cherished since I was 15 and I'm trying to make it show clearly without the jagged edges when it's smaller, which I don't know how to.

I originally made this in Photoshop and honestly have trouble putting this through Illustrator since I never really touch that program, honestly. I wish everything I had could just be @2X.

Can anyone help? :/

Here's the emblem: http://www.behance.n...-Emblem/7172771

There are actually 2 emblems, the logo (without the ribbons) represents Art Made Fresh, and then the ribbon added represents The XXIV.


#2 Guth

Guth

    Alba Gu Bráth

  • Joined: 30-December 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 17 February 2013 - 15:22

The problem with making something smaller is that all the pixels no longer fit, so you obviously have to start losing some.
Usually photoshop handles this quite well though.
How small are we talking?

50% size, not understanding the issue here? Unless you want it even smaller
Untitled-1.jpg

#3 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 17 February 2013 - 19:50

Basically this. It's frustrating honestly, for years actually. Viewing the image full, then you'll notice.

Attached Images

  • Untitled-1.jpg


#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 February 2013 - 20:07

Traced the original image in CorelDraw then resized the exported .png

Not sure if its any better

Posted Image



Original huge traced .png
http://localhostr.co.../Untitled-1.png

#5 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 17 February 2013 - 20:10

Traced the original image in CorelDraw then resized the exported .png

Not sure if its any better

Posted Image



Original huge traced .png
http://localhostr.co.../Untitled-1.png


It wouldn't work, plus it blows some of the original lines out of proportion, I tried in Illustrator.

Here's the original logo.

http://artmadefresh.com

#6 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 17 February 2013 - 20:15

It wouldn't work, plus it blows some of the original lines out of proportion, I tried in Illustrator.

Here's the original logo.

http://artmadefresh.com


I get this
http://localhostr.co...s/oDxw9ne/2.png


resized
Posted Image

#7 OP Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 17 February 2013 - 20:52

I get this
http://localhostr.co...s/oDxw9ne/2.png


resized
Posted Image


But remember the lining is blown out of proportion when image tracing.

#8 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 17 February 2013 - 21:03

At this point I don't know what you actually want. You have be given many excellent examples of scaled down versions that look as close as possible. And tracing doesn't make the lines put of proportion, not if you do it right or use a decent tracer. The lines will scale properly untill 1 pixel then it sorta depends on the rasterizer quality how it handles it.

#9 Neu B

Neu B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-April 11

Posted 17 February 2013 - 21:27

Basically this. It's frustrating honestly, for years actually. Viewing the image full, then you'll notice.


I see what you're saying. I'm thinking that the image was created in 72 dpi, Photoshop's default res. You will see smoother edges if you create the image in, lets say 300 dpi.

#10 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Times a Ticking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 17 February 2013 - 22:29

I think you may need to make a vector image which would rescale to size but Im no expert on this.