Jump to content



Photo

Windows ME problem playing audio cds with WMP9-10

winme

  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#16 zeroomegazx

zeroomegazx

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-March 05

Posted 22 February 2013 - 16:52

Look I SWEAR I'm not trying to troll here.... WHY THE $^&# ARE YOU USING WINDOWS ME????????????

This point alone may be the cause of most of your issues if you are running it on semi current hardware.


#17 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 22 February 2013 - 17:02

How did you go about changing from 98 to ME and how soon after you changed did this happen?

#18 #Michael

#Michael

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-August 01

Posted 22 February 2013 - 17:04

At first I thought someone dug up a 10 year old thread but I just realized it was created today. Damn does this bring back memories.

#19 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 22 February 2013 - 19:10

I would suggest upgrading to Windows XP if your system does not support Windows 7. Windown ME had lots of trouble with audio.

#20 -T-

-T-

    Trapmaster

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: Western Australia & Scotland

Posted 22 February 2013 - 19:17

I would suggest upgrading to Windows XP if your system does not support Windows 7. Windown ME had lots of trouble with everything.


Fixed that for you

#21 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 22 February 2013 - 19:19

I would suggest upgrading to Windows XP if your system does not support Windows 7. Windown ME had lots of trouble with audio.


It has a lot of trouble with about everything in fact.

I remember Baldur's Gate would keep crashing on it (bringing the whole system down requiring a reboot which was extremely slow on ME). Then when i upgraded to Windows 2000 i had no problem running it.

#22 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 22 February 2013 - 19:39

We need more information from the origional poster or all else is mere speculation

#23 DJLunacy

DJLunacy

    The White Rappah

  • Joined: 08-October 01

Posted 22 February 2013 - 19:51

If you install Netscape Navigator Gold 3.0 It should clear up your issue.

#24 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 22 February 2013 - 20:16

Install realplayer gold g2 and your baby will be good at ba ba

#25 +Duble Kay

Duble Kay

    They flutter behind you your possible pasts

  • Joined: 24-October 03
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S5

Posted 22 February 2013 - 20:44

Its not you, its ME.


That one made me actually LOL

#26 OP togermano

togermano

    hot top for the bottoms

  • Joined: 29-December 02
  • Location: MA,USA
  • OS: win98se(For real)

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:15

I heard windows ME is very stable after you upgrade the beta internet explorer/wmp that it came with and disable system restore... Ill try updating the drivers from dell website if not ill just go back to windows 98 se. I prefer the updated explorer that windows ME has and has better USB support.

Yes I browse the internet with it... I also run mirc/aim on it too and use it to email people I use it mostly for dos and windows 9x games. Plus using old things makes me hard :D

#27 Gotenks98

Gotenks98

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-December 01

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:21

Obvious troll is obvious???

#28 Som

Som

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-December 06
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:21

What decade is it? I'm frightened....

#29 Thrackerzod

Thrackerzod

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 14-November 01

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:24

fraid not mate,its the other way round. analogue uses the old cable from optical drive to sound card, digital pulls the data using CDDA like a data disk :)


Many drives also had a digital output on them, making it possible to get digital audio directly to your sound card.

Posted Image
If your drive had the function controls on the front you didn't even need a computer to use it. Just connect it to power and you had a makeshift CD player.

#30 arachnoid

arachnoid

    Copyright Withheld

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 22 February 2013 - 22:26

Look up 98SE2ME if you want to upgrade parts of the system