Jump to content



Photo

When formatting a SD card, should I use the "official tool"?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:13

Hello

Im wondering if I should use the "official tool" to format my SD card.

https://www.sdcard.o...ds/formatter_4/


#2 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:30

Only if formatting via your OS is causing you some sort of problem.

#3 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:34

Pretty much dead on.

Some times it'll cause the device to be unreadable after moving between devices. If you find this is the case, use the tool :)

#4 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:37

What I ment by the question (sorry that I wasn't clear) is that should I format thru

My OS
This tool
My mobile device

?

#5 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:39

If you have the official tool, you may as well use it O.o

#6 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 23 February 2013 - 00:44

a format is a format is a format.... not really sure why anyone thinks one utility over another is formatting it any differently.. FAT32 is FAT32 and NTFS is NTFS...

#7 +FiB3R

FiB3R

    aka DARKFiB3R

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 06-November 02
  • Location: SE London
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Enterprise
  • Phone: Lumia 930

Posted 23 February 2013 - 01:13

a format is a format is a format.... not really sure why anyone thinks one utility over another is formatting it any differently.. FAT32 is FAT32 and NTFS is NTFS...


When doing stuff like "soft modding" a Wii, using Windows to format the SD card has been known to cause problems. That's why in most guides, regarding said mod, you will see Panasonic's SD card formatting tool being recommended.

#8 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 23 February 2013 - 01:15

Same is true of a lot of top end DSLRs.. There are definitely compatibility issues, although I suspect it's due to the card designs >.>

#9 ingramator

ingramator

    Hacker

  • Joined: 04-July 12
  • OS: Windows 7/8, OSX 10.8, Linux/UNIX/BSD
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GS3

Posted 23 February 2013 - 01:23

a format is a format is a format.... not really sure why anyone thinks one utility over another is formatting it any differently.. FAT32 is FAT32 and NTFS is NTFS...


Not entirely true. Different tools can only pickup certain filesystems and so when you go to the format the card it will only format the viewable allocation. Using the official tool will endure the ENTIRE SD card is formatted as opposed to just the viewable section. I highly recommend the official SD card tool for formatting if you are changing filesystems or using it for embedded devices which can sometimes soft corrupt the card! Otherwise if you are just using it on your PC formatting using Windows will work perfectly.

#10 OP pes2013

pes2013

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-September 12

Posted 23 February 2013 - 13:25

Not entirely true. Different tools can only pickup certain filesystems and so when you go to the format the card it will only format the viewable allocation. Using the official tool will endure the ENTIRE SD card is formatted as opposed to just the viewable section. I highly recommend the official SD card tool for formatting if you are changing filesystems or using it for embedded devices which can sometimes soft corrupt the card! Otherwise if you are just using it on your PC formatting using Windows will work perfectly.

Great post :) Ill use the official SD card tool then.

#11 Polarman

Polarman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-June 07

Posted 24 February 2013 - 15:31

I use several SD cards (lexar) for my Canon camera. I just use the format option inside the camera. Mixing SD cards with several cameras or others would be inadvisable and would lead to errors.

I also use the lexar usb3 reader when i have to transfer the pictures. It's much faster than the cable.