Jump to content



Photo

Windows 7 - No sound when playing a DVD....


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:50

sadly on my mediacenter i am forced to use windows instead of linux. and its the real crap. fails to do such basic things like plaiyng the SOUND on a dvd.

- acer ferrari 5000 notebook
- clean, fresh installation of win 7
- it plays sound files and movie files just fine, also DVDs but no sound!
- works like a charm in vlc so the hardware and drivers are fine
- i need to have it working in mediacenter which, just like mediaplayer, fails
- installed sharky win7 codec pack for divx support etc.
- still no luck with sound on dvd
- installed another codec pack. same problem.
- i set the dvd region to europe (it was not set at all first)
- i rebooted several times
- no luck

i since years thought that windows is just trash and it got confirmed. why is it that today every simple linux distribution, with only a few users behind it, can do the basic tasks of a computer/pc system MUCH better than windooze?
you know i googled the problem and i am not the only one with this ****... all they said was try install a codec pack.
why do i even need to install a codec pack (with all these ugly toolbars and trojans etc.) for such basic things?

no wonder everyone is pirating that **** OS.

any ideas?


#2 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 24 February 2013 - 11:10

As far as I'm aware VLC comes with its own codecs, so could be a codec problem if it is playing in that but not others

Also, try k-lite, apparently it doesnt have spam etc anymore like it used to:

http://www.free-code..._codec_pack.htm

#3 Riva

Riva

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-February 07

Posted 24 February 2013 - 11:26

I don't see your model supported under Windows 7 on Acer
Edit Ignore me I was looking at the wrong site.

#4 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 11:35

I don't see your model supported under Windows 7 on Acer
Edit Ignore me I was looking at the wrong site.


the older drivers work fine in win7, also afaik last time i used win7 on my notebook (few years back) the sound output on dvd was working.
anyway. its a basic task. nothing you need complicated drivers for. the fact that vlc works shows just how **** windows is. if any linux distro would give working sound output via hdmi i would switch immediately.

#5 ManMountain

ManMountain

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-November 01
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro MC x64
  • Phone: LG Nexus 5

Posted 24 February 2013 - 11:51

Codec-wise, I use FFDShow tryout played through MPC-HC. I have no problems playing any file format.

Did you also install Cyberlink PowerDVD, it includes an MPEG-2 decoder. What version of Windows 7 is installed?

#6 arachnoid

arachnoid

    A day without sunshine is like night.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:01

Well if memory serves Windows don't support certain video or audio playback codecs which may have been because of proprietary licenses,hence the requirement to install codec packs such as K-Lite and the revenue gained from the end user buying a codec pack from them.

#7 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:13

thanks for all your hints so far.

- i installed that klite codec pack. no success....
- win 7 is win 7 ultimate

#8 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:26

Very strange if you've tried all those codec packs and none are working.

Here's answers I found elsewhere...


Hi,

1. Was it playing fine earlier?
2. Have you tried playing the DVD's in another computer?
3. Does the issue occur on all the DVD's?

Please follow the steps mentioned below.

Step 1:

In Windows Media Player,
a. Click Tools > Options > Devices > Click on DVD and select Properties.
b. Make sure that Playback and Rip are set to Digital.

Step 2:

This issue can be caused by incompatible Codec. I suggest that you remove/uninstall all the installed third party Codec packs, players or video record programs.



---

So I'd try uninstalling all codec packs, restart, install k-lite

#9 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:30

wow epic breakthrough here :woot:
i found that i can at least bring windows media player to play the soud via the internal speakers. :rolleyes:

audio.jpg

- i chose the first entry no sound is played
- i chose digitalaudio hd audio .. nothing
- i chose speakers (3rd entry) ... sound output via the laptop speakers. i think i dont have to add that this is no option for a media center.


the over 100mb download of cyberlink powerdvd has finished now and i will install that. if it works i can at least have 30 days of sound output. how progressive. did i already mention that microsoft is trash?

#10 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:43

no sound output via powerdvd either.....
but at least 20 new nag-screens asking me to register somewhere. :/


cant be such a big task to have simple sound output working on a dvd...... (btw. dvd is standard with vob files ...)

#11 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 13:11

more ****

audio2.jpg


i had there speakers as well and tried some settings, also thought lets try deactivate them, now they are gone and i cant get them back anymore! also not in system settings. they are just gone......... windows behaves like a virus no joke.

any ideas except more trashy codec packs?


this is so damn annoying. i plan to buy me a htpc but i wont do this until i can be completely sure that at least basic things like sound output works, otherwise i wont waste my money. damn, these things are now mainstream since how many years? 5? and still so many bugs and ****. i would not and will never ever waste a single cent on a microsoft product anymore. :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

#12 arachnoid

arachnoid

    A day without sunshine is like night.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 24 February 2013 - 13:18

Hang on your getting confusing.What ere you trying to play the audio back on thats not working as one sentence mentions internal speakers and another something else?
If you have some other hardware attached did you check device manager to ensure its installed correctly?

If you hit the test button [bottom left] you should get this screen to test the speaker out put

Posted Image

#13 OP +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 24 February 2013 - 13:22

Hang on your getting confusing.What ere you trying to play the audio back on thats not working as one sentence mentions internal speakers and another something else?


on that pic above i had below the S/PDIF digital audio also a point which said digital audio speakers (afaik it was called that way).
i double clicked on it and tried some settings to make the dvd sound output working in media player. no success. one setting was to deactivate the speakers . i thought it was like you deactivate something in the system settings where it gets deactivated but you can activate it later on again. but not here! its not there anymore. gone forever it seems. also not back after a reboot or scanning for new hardware.

#14 ashpowell

ashpowell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-November 06
  • Location: UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 24 February 2013 - 13:26

Btw what's up with using VLC if that's working fine?

#15 arachnoid

arachnoid

    A day without sunshine is like night.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 24 February 2013 - 13:28

Right click the device in your image and select show disabled devices from the drop down menu

Posted Image