Jump to content



Photo

Windows & Ubuntu Boot


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:17

I had my 1TB drive formatted in ext4 with Ubuntu 12.04 installed.

I used Gparted and resized the drive, I added 130GB NTFS partition and installed Windows 7 on it.

I now boot directly into windows, no options to select Ubuntu.

What happened? Shouldn't windows or Ubuntu have installed a menu to choose?

How do I fix this?


#2 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 7/8.1, BSD Unix, Arch Linux
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:22

The Windows installer overwrote your old bootloader. Usually a pretty easy thing to repair as long as you have a live CD handy. For example:
https://help.ubuntu....ity/Boot-Repair

#3 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:23

Oh good, so just get into a live Ubuntu, run boot repair?

Nice and simple, thanks.

#4 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:24

i'd stick with the windows boot loader and use EasyBCD to at Ubuntu to it
(download link at the bottom)

makes things overall easier to work with IMO. especially if you want to get into windows safe mode for whatever reason

#5 +Jack Unterweger

Jack Unterweger

    in linux i trust

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 19-January 03
  • OS: Snapshot-Linux x64 1149 0.5
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:28

here you see fine that windows really behaves like a virus :)

#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:37

And yet billions of people still use it. Your claim is moot.

#7 guitmz

guitmz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 11
  • Location: Brazil
  • OS: Windows 8, Arch Linux, OSX 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 26 February 2013 - 20:48

you can use any bootloaders you want... but i do recommend reinstalling grub as the guy said above

#8 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 26 February 2013 - 21:26

Oh I'm staying away from the windows bootloader, never liked it.

#9 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 26 February 2013 - 23:04

EasyBCD is very simple to use. I used it in the past.

#10 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 28 February 2013 - 00:16

Now that I have both running I have an issue accessing a drive.

I am using a program called Ext2Fsd to allow me to access my ext4 drives in Windows, works great.

Though, I installed Plex Server and it does not work. I add a folder from those drives, and nothing happens. Ideas?

#11 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 February 2013 - 01:15

Did you install Plex in Windows or Ubuntu? If its in Windows, its possible that Plex is trying (and failing) to get extended attribute information about the files in the folders you added. Although its just a guess (since I have no experience with Plex specifically), many media servers try to read extended attributes from files. Most of the time this works great. Unfortunately while Ext2Fsd works reasonably well, it is still somewhat incomplete (hence the reason it doesn't support the full EXT3 or EXT4 feature sets), and Windows stores file attributes very differently than Linux, leading to extra work that needs to be done by Ext2Fsd to make extent file systems moutable in Windows.

#12 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 28 February 2013 - 01:28

Eloquently put.

#13 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:02

Yes installed on Windows (well windows is the one with the issue).

So what exactly are you saying, nothing can be done?

#14 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:30

Since I'm not very familiar with Plex I'm not going to outright state that nothing can be done, but that is likely the case if my conjecture is correct. If you have a drive (or partition) with only media, it might be a good idea to format it as NTFS as long as you are sharing it with Windows. Linux has much better NTFS support than Windows does EXT2+ support.

#15 OP +bman

bman

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 03-January 03
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8.1 & Android

Posted 28 February 2013 - 02:33

Yea they are all ext4 because I had issues getting Plex on Linux to access those drives lol

Now that I am using Windows for some Games, I need temp usage of Plex on Windows, and don't work lol