Jump to content



Photo

Changing Wifi sources


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 01 March 2013 - 18:33

I know this sounds funny, but I was wondering if there was software that could change from a lan source to wifi at a set time.


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 01 March 2013 - 18:36

I know this sounds funny, but I was wondering if there was software that could change from a lan source to wifi at a set time.


You can probably write a powershell script that will run on task scheduler, and the commands would (1) disable the LAN adapter, and (2) enabled the Wifi Adapter.

#3 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 01 March 2013 - 18:39

I do not know how to make a Powershell script ><

#4 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 01 March 2013 - 18:52

some quick googleing should do it, I've just started using PS and its not that hard to pick up the basics, just write it in notepad and save as a .ps1 file (think that's the right extension).

#5 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 01 March 2013 - 18:55

some quick googleing should do it, I've just started using PS and its not that hard to pick up the basics, just write it in notepad and save as a .ps1 file (think that's the right extension).


It is.

#6 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 01 March 2013 - 19:08

Well, could I adapt this to work for me?

http://saulosilva.co...ith-powershell/

Have like four scripts to enable and disable each network adapter at a time?

#7 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 02 March 2013 - 00:59

Does anyone else have any suggestions? I can't get the powershell scripts to work.

#8 philcruicks

philcruicks

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Location: Bracknell, UK
  • OS: Win 7
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 02 March 2013 - 10:52

You running windows 7 or 8 cause that's powershell 2 script, PS3 makes it a bit easier but is only in win 8/svr2012 (again someone correct me if I'm wrong) and from the comments in the post looks like if your on XP it's not going to work at all.

Take a look at http://technet.micro...y/jj134956.aspx that's all the cmdlets for the network adapter.

This might also help http://blogs.technet...-windows-8.aspx
looks like you can also use the connection name I.e. Ethernet or Ethernet 2 rather than the name of the device itself TP link wireless adapter or whatever.

Hopefully those will help a bit.

#9 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 02 March 2013 - 20:47

I got it working!!! Thank you philcruicks!

#10 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 02 March 2013 - 20:54

Well it seems it works in the editor but not in powershell. Gives a red lettered error and quits.

#11 OP Systematic

Systematic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-February 02

Posted 02 March 2013 - 21:17

Alright, found the issue! Thank you all that helped!