Jump to content



Photo

What is happening to my screen?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tigurinn

Tigurinn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 04 March 2013 - 19:56

Sorry if this is in the wrong section.

But I'm a novice in pretty much all things digital - so, therefore I couldn't possibly describe it in words, so a screenshot does the job for me.

When you spot it, I would be highly grateful if you would tell me why it's happening and what could possibly be wrong.

By the way, I'm running Windows 7 (with no prior problems)

Attached Images

  • screen 2.jpg



#2 +Lovell

Lovell

    ,l,(-.-),l,

  • Joined: 14-November 03
  • Location: Great Britain

Posted 04 March 2013 - 19:58

font/shadow problems?

Try run - fonts - cleartype or changing the font options in performance settings, I also had something similar it was a problem with ATI can't remember what it was but it was in catalyst control center

#3 Arceles

Arceles

    Time Craymel

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 09
  • Location: 4th dimmension.
  • OS: Win 7 Ultimate / Win 8.1 Pro (With Start Menu Start8, otherwise is UNUSABLE) / Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean
  • Phone: XT890 Motorola RAZRi (x86 processor)

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:03

It looks like hardware acceleration problems... had those the very first days that I was testing windows 8 and firefox still didn't supported it at all, it's not your monitor, rather it seems that your browser is having problems with the hardware acceleration (if enabled as most of the browsers do by default nowadays).

#4 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:13

It's not a screen problem if you can capture it in a screen shot

Try a different browser

#5 OP Tigurinn

Tigurinn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:26

Thanks you guys.

I haven't had any problems before, so I don't quite understand it - especially since the laptop is just the way when it was bought new (no hardware upgrades, and no os upgrades). And the browser is Firefox 19 - with a some addons, which couldn't possibly be causing this (I think) and my preferred browser, so I really want to stick to it

#6 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:32

If you have an AMD card its almost certainly the drivers, I had no end of troubles with hardware acceleration, glitches, freezing, BSOD, etc.. just disable hardware acceleration in the settings of Firefox.

#7 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Axiom

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:33

Doubt it is your browser unless this appears only in your browser. Then, if this is the case, disable all extensions and enable them one by one to see if it is an extension.

#8 OP Tigurinn

Tigurinn

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 04 March 2013 - 20:43

just disable hardware acceleration in the settings of Firefox.


Holy moly, this seems to have done the trick. Thank you and thank you all guys :) No wonder I tend to check out Neowin pretty regularly :)

#9 yowanvista

yowanvista

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-February 10
  • Location: Mauritius
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit
  • Phone: i9001-CM11-KitKat 4.4.4 - Kernel 3.4.96

Posted 04 March 2013 - 22:35

Few were reporting the same problem with Firefox when having IE10 installed, it apparently broke something with DirectWrite.
https://bugzilla.moz...g.cgi?id=812695



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!