Jump to content



Photo

My News system


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 11:12

Ok i made a news system

Mainly because i wanted to see if i could do it

Ignore the actual site layout it was just thrown together so i could work on it as if it was part of a site

Is there anything you would add?
Anything you would change?
anything you would remove?

http://www.haggistech.co.uk/news


#2 LUTZIFER

LUTZIFER

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 09-January 02
  • Location: Vancouver Island, BC CANADA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Google Nexus 4

Posted 05 March 2013 - 11:45

Sweet! Looks awesome so far. Good work!!

#3 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 14:23

Thanks

Been working on it for a wee while now just in between work etc

the main page i feel is about finished maybe some small tweaks

Totally lost on admin page though

#4 +Lingwo

Lingwo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 22-April 03
  • Location: UK

Posted 05 March 2013 - 14:54

If you're not sure what to do for the admin page.
Look at bootstrap
http://twitter.github.com/bootstrap/
You can whip up a decent looking administration backend pretty quickly.

As for functionality, you will want to include things like comment moderation, News CRUD. A user CRUD also.

#5 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 05 March 2013 - 15:31

Very good work, it's nice, clean and does it's job - just a couple of things:

- index.php?page=comments&id=54 - you should definitely use a slug: /facebook-hosting-windows-8-hackathon, page=comments is not a good representation
- also show news title in the page <title></title>, it still says Home even when it's not on 'home'
-

Posted by: Haggis @ November 30, 2012

.. you can't post something at @ a date.

#6 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 16:03

Very good work, it's nice, clean and does it's job - just a couple of things:

- index.php?page=comments&id=54 - you should definitely use a slug: /facebook-hosting-windows-8-hackathon, page=comments is not a good representation
- also show news title in the page <title></title>, it still says Home even when it's not on 'home'
-

Posted by: Haggis @ November 30, 2012

.. you can't post something at @ a date.



Why is it not good to use ?page=comments for example?

I will fix the @ to on lol

and yeah the | home i will fix too

thanks :)

#7 +WildWayz

WildWayz

    The Moose God

  • Joined: 28-September 11
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 05 March 2013 - 16:10

Isn't it SEO indexing? You'll get more hits from search engines if the title is in the link...

#8 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 05 March 2013 - 16:12

Why is it not good to use ?page=comments for example?

I will fix the @ to on lol

and yeah the | home i will fix too

thanks :)


Just my personal take on it: it's not really a comments page, it's a news page with comment functionality... Using something like the page/news title as the url is much more relevant.

And as above.. SEO purposes.

#9 ACTIONpack

ACTIONpack

    Graphic Designer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: Lawrenceville, GA
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925 (T-Mobile)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 18:35

It works but needs a lot of css styling. It's looks like a shell only.

#10 kyosuken

kyosuken

    Old Geezer

  • Joined: 27-October 01

Posted 05 March 2013 - 20:01

You forgot to validate the ID

http://www.haggistec...nts&id=mouhhaha

will give a mysql error...

Good job for a first try :) !

#11 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 05 March 2013 - 22:28

It works but needs a lot of css styling. It's looks like a shell only.


Did you read the first post?

in particular thisbit

Ignore the actual site layout it was just thrown together so i could work on it as if it was part of a site



You forgot to validate the ID

http://www.haggistec...nts&id=mouhhaha

will give a mysql error...

Good job for a first try :) !



Thank you, i will fix that :)

#12 PhilTheThrill

PhilTheThrill

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-November 03
  • Location: Canada
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: WP8

Posted 06 March 2013 - 04:34

What check are you doing on the ID to ensure it's legit?

#13 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:34

Its been so long since i did that bit of code i will ahve to check lol

#14 OP Haggis

Haggis

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 13-June 07
  • Location: Near Stirling, Scotland
  • OS: Debian 7
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 LTE (i9305)

Posted 06 March 2013 - 12:10

i am escaping the string and should now not work like that

this should work now

http://www.haggistec...ents&id=muhahah

#15 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 06 March 2013 - 12:38

yeah i tried to hijack it using the id and every attempt failed.