Jump to content



Photo

How do I record gameplay?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Scraggles

Scraggles

    RootLeak

  • Joined: 11-September 03
  • Location: Troy, New York

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:00

I tried using fraps, but a single game of league of legends even at half size was 179gb in total. How do I record it with commentary?


#2 1941

1941

    Banned

  • Joined: 17-July 06

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:02

That is the only way I know how to do it.

#3 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:08

For League of Legends, they have LoL Replay

http://www.leaguereplays.com/download/

BTW what settings did you choose for Fraps under Movies??

#4 OP Scraggles

Scraggles

    RootLeak

  • Joined: 11-September 03
  • Location: Troy, New York

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:40

The settings in Fraps are 30fps, half size. 'loop buffer length' is 30 seconds.

I can't simply use lol replay because I want to record other games as well.

#5 EyEvil

EyEvil

    I let the dogs out!

  • Joined: 14-September 03
  • Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:48

Recording will be huge file to maintain quality, then you can use HandBrake to encode it.

#6 OP Scraggles

Scraggles

    RootLeak

  • Joined: 11-September 03
  • Location: Troy, New York

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:50

So my only option is to essentially waste ~150gb of hard drive space until I encode it? Meaning No way in hell can I play and record multiple consecutive games?

#7 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:52

So my only option is to essentially waste ~150gb of hard drive space until I encode it? Meaning No way in hell can I play and record multiple consecutive games?

that's why you buy extra hard-drives or a couple externals

heck 1TB drives are less than $100 anymore

#8 OP Scraggles

Scraggles

    RootLeak

  • Joined: 11-September 03
  • Location: Troy, New York

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:54

Suppose I'll be clearing out this backup porn drive... Byebye 2tb of fun :(

#9 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:55

Suppose I'll be clearing out this backup porn drive... Byebye 2tb of fun :(

:rofl:

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:18

well use the half-size settings or use an app that would encode on the fly, burning up CPU on encoding... it does it lossless so it doesn't have to use CPU cycles to encode while you game.

#11 OP Scraggles

Scraggles

    RootLeak

  • Joined: 11-September 03
  • Location: Troy, New York

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:19

Recommendations on any other apps? Fraps is the only one that I know of.

#12 Slammers

Slammers

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 30-April 08

Posted 07 March 2013 - 05:29

Yeh use MSI afterburner. It's a great utility for overclocking but it includes video recording that is best in the game IMO
It'll record raw video with less performance impact than FRAPS, and in video settings if you select MPEG compression and maybe limit framerate and quality it'll make your files pretty small as it records.
Check it out. If your serious about recording a dedicated 1TB or more hardrive would be handy.

#13 TheExperiment

TheExperiment

    Reality Bomb

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-October 03
  • Location: Everywhere
  • OS: 8.1 x64

Posted 07 March 2013 - 09:19

http://www.twitch.tv/p/about
I think this'll do it if you want to post directly to the interwebs, I've never used it. It's supported directly in Origin or I'd have never heard of it in the first place.