Jump to content



Photo

Do you have a webcam?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you have a webcam?

Do you have webcam?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 PeteDaCoder

PeteDaCoder

    Neowinian

  • 5 posts
  • Joined: 14-March 13

Posted 16 March 2013 - 07:53

Hi,

I am interested in how many people have webcams available on their desktop PCs or notebooks, as there seems to be various apps and games possible to create if everyone in the world had a webcam available that is of reasonable quality.

Thanks


#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • 5,689 posts
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:37

No webcam. People I know know that I'm ugly even without it. Who am I to add to their misery. I do have a mic, but it has never been used for a practical purpose.

As for various "apps" (whatahell happened to "programs", I wonder?) and games - why don't you go ahead and name some.

#3 Aheer.R.S.

Aheer.R.S.

    I cannot Teach Him, the Boy has no Patience!

  • 11,541 posts
  • Joined: 15-October 10

Posted 16 March 2013 - 13:07

I do, yes, on all of my devices, but that's just for the convenience of Skype video calling to my family overseas, regardless of what room I'm in.
(And partly because the tablet helps disabled family members (in my case both my parents in their late 70's) stay in touch without having to climb stairs to reach my pc)

#4 Max Norris

Max Norris

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,762 posts
  • Joined: 20-February 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1, BSD Unix
  • Phone: HTC One (Home) Lumia 1020 (Work)

Posted 16 March 2013 - 13:12

Yup, several, desktop, both my wife's and my own laptops, and one of the Windows based tablets. There's another but it doesn't count as a webcam exactly, an old camcorder via 1394.

#5 Guest_seanseany_*

Guest_seanseany_*
  • Joined: --

Posted 16 March 2013 - 13:20

Built into my laptop and its got a sticker over it ( Small West Ham United club emblem ...c'mon you Irons !!!!11!lol).

Never use it to be honest.

#6 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • 3,200 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:01

Yep, got a Microsoft Lifecam HD. I use it every now and then. Mostly for it's microphone though, that is top notch!

#7 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,681 posts
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:13

Desktop has webcam (Lifecam Studio), netbook has it built in. My tablet and phone have front facing cameras as well.

#8 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,586 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:18

Yes, but I don't use them really. I have an integrated webcam on my work and home laptops, and an external camera for my work laptop. Oddly enough, I get the most use out of the forward facing camera on my phone, which I use when calling my friend in China to catch up. Even that is only about twice a month.

#9 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • 2,596 posts
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:26

Yes, I have the Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920. It's great for more than just Skype!

#10 Tigurinn

Tigurinn

    Neowinian

  • 493 posts
  • Joined: 04-March 13

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:42

As for various "apps" (whatahell happened to "programs", I wonder?) and games - why don't you go ahead and name some.


Heck, what ever happened to "applications"?

As for the question - I don't have a webcam

#11 Lee G.

Lee G.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,394 posts
  • Joined: 28-October 04
  • Location: London, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1

Posted 16 March 2013 - 14:54

My desktop is my main computer and I use a Logitech Quickcam Zoom I got from Microsoft in 2005 for beta testing MSN Messenger. The picture quality is good enough for me so I've never had much desire to upgrade it.

Posted Image

#12 CrashGordon

CrashGordon

    The Perfect Threesome: Lime, Salt & Tequila

  • 5,301 posts
  • Joined: 31-January 04
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Phone: Jackson JS3 Kelly Bird IV through a Fender Rumble 150. Can ya hear me now?

Posted 16 March 2013 - 15:12

Yes, a Logitech C270 on the desktop also one built in on the laptop. Mainly used for Skype/WLM video chats with family/friends.

#13 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • 41,508 posts
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 17 March 2013 - 02:09

Yes, I do. One on my Samsung Chromebook and another on my Toshiba laptop.

#14 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,129 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 8.1u1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.1u1

Posted 17 March 2013 - 02:16

yes its a built in 720p webcam on my notebook

#15 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • 4,289 posts
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 17 March 2013 - 02:22

No webcam for me, hell I've never used the FFC on my phone, and it's the second one I've had with one built in