Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:42

I am trying to turn a server into a Hyper-V host. The virtual machines will not work (Hypervisor not running) unless 'Intel Virtualisation Technology' and 'No Execute Protection' are enabled in the BIOS. I do this and they run fine. However everytime I reboot or power off the server these two options revert back to disabled so I have to go in and enable them again. How can I get them to stay enabled? I have tried turning the server off after applying the setting which was mentioned on various forums after googling the problem. Did not work.

The server is a HP Proliant ML350 G5. The processor is Intel Xeon @ 3.2 GHZ (2 processors). TIA.


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:44

Exactly what CPU is it?

#3 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:45

could be that you need to replace the cmos battery?

that's the first thing i can think of for why settings wouldn't stick in bios

#4 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:46

Do other changes get saved to the BIOS on power cycle?

#5 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:47

Maybe a BIOS update flash would help.

#6 ir0nw0lf

ir0nw0lf

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • Joined: 22-August 01
  • Location: Pensacola, FL, USA

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:49

I vote for checking CMOS battery as a precaution. Typical coin battery should be a CR2032 putting out ~3V. If the date/time and other settings other than what you mentioned are not changing then the battery might not be the culprit.

#7 Astra.Xtreme

Astra.Xtreme

    Electrical Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 02-January 04
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:52

Does the date and time get reset also? If so, then yeah it's probably the CMOS battery. If the date and time are fine, then something in the BIOS core itself is messed up.

#8 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 22 March 2013 - 17:54

Maybe a BIOS update flash would help.


Have done that

Exactly what CPU is it?


I honestly don't know have looked in msinfo32 but doesn't give exact type of processor. I know the processor supports virtualisation because the virtual machine's start fine when bios settings are enabled. I don't appear to have any date/time problems (from memory) however I will def check the battery and post the results.

#9 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 27 March 2013 - 08:25

Update: I put in a new cmos battery and ... it worked!
Weird how date/time were not being forgotten

#10 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 27 March 2013 - 15:32

Update: I put in a new cmos battery and ... it worked!
Weird how date/time were not being forgotten

that most likely means that the battery was low but not completely dead (weird things like that can happen when the battery is getting close to dieing)

#11 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 27 April 2013 - 10:40

Well, I thought this was sorted but it seems not - has gone back to what it was doing before the new CMOS battery. Can anyone think of anything else that can cause this?

#12 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 10:58

Problem with the memory used to store the settings maybe? I'd contact HP about if I was you. If it's a hardware problem, it'll be costly or require a lot of work to get it fixed, if it's an error with something HP have done they'll patch it

#13 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 27 April 2013 - 13:34

bad bios rom....possibly replace main board.

battery not making proper contact, possibly corrosion on contacts.

#14 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 27 April 2013 - 14:38

It's not battery related, the RTC is keeping the time and date. It's not a bad BIOS ROM, he's updated it and it's always verified upon updates, if the updater can read the whole BIOS chip fine then so can the computer when it powers up. Most likely bad volatile memory where the settings are stored which would need to be removed and replace (if you can still get the chips) which would cost a lot or probably cheaper to just get another main board.