Jump to content



Photo

Convert MKV to MP4


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:42

How can I convert an MKV to MP4 without losing too much of the quality? Thanks!


#2 +Brando212

Brando212

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 17
  • Joined: 15-April 10
  • Location: Omaha, NE
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia ZL, Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:44

check out Handbreak it's the goto app for most people doing video conversions

#3 OP C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:47

check out Handbreak it's the goto app for most people doing video conversions


And this is why I love Neowin. Thanks for the speedy response!

#4 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:54

I use XenonMKV because then you do not have to re-encode the whole video again. it just opens the container and re contains it as a MP4 file. So you can take a 8Gb MKV file and have a MP4 file in about 5 minutes.

http://xenonmkv.ev98.net/

#5 LaP

LaP

    Forget about it

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 10-July 06
  • Location: Quebec City, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1

Posted 19 April 2013 - 14:55

Avidemux would probably do the job too. Just change the container and keep the video and audio as is.

#6 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:00

If you're looking to just change the container (.mkv and mp4 are just the wrappers for the file) consider Yam.


Much faster to just repackage the container than to transcode >.< We do it for mkv files for playback on the XBox.

#7 sagum

sagum

    Unicorn Doctor

  • Joined: 09-October 08
  • Location: England
  • OS: Mac OS X 10.9 / Windows 7/8.1
  • Phone: LG E900 & Lumia` 610/520/920

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:25

For set it and forget it, I use freemake video converter. Will convert pretty much anything you want to anything you want. MKV to DVD? no problem, MKV to MP4? no problem.
It supports Cuda too so if you have an NVidia card, you can get some fast conversion times.

If you just want a few MKV in a MP4 format, it's a quick and easy way without having to learn how to use the other programs and settings. Otherwise, it might be quicker for you to use one of the mutex type programs.

However, depending on your use, if its for play back, most devices (iOS, Windows/WP/8, Android, Linux mac, Roku and some smart TVs and DLNA cert devices) are supported via PlexApp and transcodes on the fly and will usually grab cover art, and blerb about the movie too.

#8 Crisp

Crisp

    To infinity and beyond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 06-May 10
  • Location: 127.0.0.1

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:26

+2 for Handbrake.

#9 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 19 April 2013 - 15:31

i'd never heard of Free Make before. sounds promising. will give it a shot. i always just use Handbrake.

#10 Riggers

Riggers

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 03-March 08

Posted 19 April 2013 - 19:55

A program iv`e recently discovered is MkvToMp4, iv`e found it very good for converting mkv`s to mp4. Great tool, still being updated.

http://www.videohelp.../tools/MkvToMp4

#11 OP C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 21 April 2013 - 00:41

I've used Freemake but I feel as if the quality was reduced greatly. Handbrake is pretty good but I will check out the others because changing the container would be best if it leaves the quality the same.

#12 ajua

ajua

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-February 07
  • Location: Mexico

Posted 21 April 2013 - 01:01

If you just want to change the container, you need to use a MP4 muxer/demuxer. One of the best is YAMB.

It's better if you change containers for compatibility reasons than to convert the video and audio as wou will surely loss quality on both.

To demux the MKV tracks use MKVCleaver. With it, you can extract audio, video and subtitles. Save them with their original extension (as provided by MKVCleaver). Using YAMB, import the tracks and mux them into a new MP4 file.

For converting formats, Handbrake can't be beat. Freemake Video Converter is a more user friendly program but also with plenty of options.

#13 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 21 April 2013 - 01:02

Don't re-encode! mp4 and mkv are just containers, not video encoding formats. This is very simple with ffmpeg (if you're not afraid to use a command prompt):
ffmpeg -i inputfile.mkv -vcodec copy -acodec copy outputfile.mp4

Explanation of the options:
-i : specifies the input, here inputfile.mkv
-vcodec copy: specifies that the output video codec is the same as input, i.e. no video re-encoding
-acodec copy: same thing but for audio
outputfile.mp4: name of the output video.

#14 OP C-Squarez

C-Squarez

    ARE YOU IN THAT MOOD YET?!?!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-May 05
  • Location: Celebration, Florida

Posted 21 April 2013 - 01:06

Don't re-encode! mp4 and mkv are just containers, not video encoding formats. This is very simple with ffmpeg (if you're not afraid to use a command prompt):

ffmpeg -i inputfile.mkv -vcodec copy -acodec copy outputfile.mp4


I found that file on my old computer and didn't know where it came from lol. I've used it before and it will preserve quality I'll do it.

#15 ajua

ajua

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-February 07
  • Location: Mexico

Posted 21 April 2013 - 07:25

I found that file on my old computer and didn't know where it came from lol. I've used it before and it will preserve quality I'll do it.


Now you have two options for not reencoding: use FFmpeg command-line as Asik suggested or go with a demux/remux like I described on my post :)