Jump to content



Photo

Mail not arriving in outlook alias

outllok

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 21 April 2013 - 07:33

So, I had an old MS account which I didn't use much. I registered it way back when MS had launched "Cool Hotmail", which gave various domain names. Being young, I thought a domain named iamcrazy.in would be cool and registered it, which I don't appreciate now. :D Started using it with Windows 8. Then came the outlook thing and I tried to register my first name but someone already took it. So, I didn't pay much attention to it. But yesterday I was fiddling around and found that MS has added the option of logging in with the aliases, which was what I wanted. I also saw that they have added country specific domains, I tried my first name and it registered. So, happy for that!

But the problem is that I can't receive any mail. :( Tried sending from 2 gmail accounts of mine, numerous times Nothing. Even sent an email to myself using that account, it shows up in Sent folder but doesn't arrive. I am happy to get a short first name email, and this may be the incentive that gets me to switch from GMail, but how can I when it doesn't receive mail? :/

P.S. : Did all the sending last night, it has been 12 hours but have received no mail.


#2 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 21 April 2013 - 08:24

Forgot to add this, I can send mails without any problem.

#3 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 22 April 2013 - 19:19

Anybody? :(

#4 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 23 April 2013 - 19:26

Okay, last bump. :p

I have narrowed the problem to my country specific domain, part of the country specific domains that were launched recently. I have 5 domain options while creating aliases, today I creatde one in each of them. Then tried mailing. And all the 4 that I created today received instantly. So, the problem is only in the address with the outlook.in domain.

So, is anybody using such alias with country specific domain? Do you have this problem? Can anybody quickly create an alias and test this?

#5 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 23 April 2013 - 21:24

This is a custom domain? If it is a custom domain, what did you do for the mail exchange record with your dns host?

according to mxtoolbox, you never set one up. If you don't set it up, you will never ever ever.....infinitely ever be able to receive.

http://mxtoolbox.com...in&run=toolpage

You would need to point these to the outlook.com mail servers.
http://www.wpbeginne...th-outlook-com/
http://www.labnol.or...m-domain/24699/

#6 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 23 April 2013 - 21:34

No, not a custom domain, it was just a part of hotmail service they offered sometime back. I know it can't receive mails now, but it has given me an old MS account. I am talking about this.
http://www.wpcentral...account-aliases
Outlook launched country specific domains. I created a new alias and the domain option I chose was outlook.in. And I can't receive any mail on that alias.

#7 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 April 2013 - 00:10

Check the mx record see if one exists. Make sure it goes to a ms server ip.

#8 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 24 April 2013 - 10:58

I am actually a bit of noob when it comes to this. On the site you linked, records do show details for outlook.in, but on the whois details, outlook.com has MS listed asRegistrant but the other one doesn't. But if MS doesn't own it, how come they let me create one?

#9 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 28
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 April 2013 - 14:26

It looks like a record that microsoft is using. Don't exaclty know why they aren't pointing to one of their servers but it looks to be similar to the cz mail domian. They are also having issues.
http://answers.micro...8b-60dda5909090

#10 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Elementary OS
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 24 April 2013 - 15:03

^^ Just about to post that :D

#11 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 24 April 2013 - 19:08

Yes, the records do show pointing to other servers than Hotmail. Okay, hoping it will get sorted soon.

#12 OP -Himanshu-

-Himanshu-

    Everybody Lies.

  • Joined: 10-September 09
  • Location: Milky Way
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro WMC x64
  • Phone: Nokia 5235

Posted 25 April 2013 - 10:29

Thanks sc and Fus1ion. It is working now. :D