Jump to content



Photo

Retina question, quite noobish


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 bdsams

bdsams

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:25

So I have a Retina MBP 15in, the tech specs say '2880-by-1800 native resolution' but in the display options, all I have are the selections below

When I select, 'best for retina', it chooses a lower resolution, not sure what, but how do I enable the 2880 by 1800 :/ ?

Attached Images

  • Screen Shot 2013-04-25 at 10.24.04 AM.png



#2 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:29

Natively you can't all it does is scales the UI.

http://osxdaily.com/...ive-resolution/

Some apps on there that will allow you to set native resolution.

#3 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:29

http://www.madrau.com/indexSRX4.html

#4 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:29

Quick google search shows it's not possible without hackin' some files:

http://www.macrumors...800-resolution/

#5 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:30

So I have a Retina MBP 15in, the tech specs say '2880-by-1800 native resolution' but in the display options, all I have are the selections below

When I select, 'best for retina', it chooses a lower resolution, not sure what, but how do I enable the 2880 by 1800 :/ ?


The display is 2880x1800 :p.

Best for retina is 1440x900 pixel doubled (this will look by far the nicest). Apple doesn't allow you to use 2880x1800 in normal dpi mode - you'll need something like SetResX to do it (good luck to your eyes if you do :p)

#6 OP bdsams

bdsams

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:31

ah ok, just wanted to make sure that everything was ok with my machine...thanks all!

#7 goodbytes

goodbytes

    Just below average Joe

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 07-May 04
  • Location: England

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:35

What resolution is everyone actually running on their rMBP? I've always went with best for retina but just had a tinker and the higher res look nice and not as bad on the eyes as i would expect. It says performance may be effected so wondering users experience on this?

#8 Brian M.

Brian M.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 07-January 05
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 25 April 2013 - 14:50

What resolution is everyone actually running on their rMBP? I've always went with best for retina but just had a tinker and the higher res look nice and not as bad on the eyes as i would expect. It says performance may be effected so wondering users experience on this?


I have mine at best for retina, until I open Xcode, TextMate or Logic - then I switch to 1920x1200 :p.

#9 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 25 April 2013 - 16:39

I don't like how they have defined HiDPI resolutions. I assure you that 1440 x 900 HiDPI mode is actually 2880 x 1800 resolution. Take a screenshot if you need further convincing. I think it is because if you consider how the resolution relates to desktop realestate 1440 x 900 HiDPI mode is equivalent to 1440 x 900 normal DPI mode. HiDPI mode will use high resolution images when available and stretch low res images. If you were able to set the resolution to 2880 x 1800 normal DPI mode everything would be TINY but you would have a LOT of desktop realestate!

#10 Luis Mazza

Luis Mazza

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-January 09
  • Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Posted 25 April 2013 - 16:47

SetResX allows you to set any resolution you want, even for external monitors. You can even set 3.200x1800 and also achieve 1600x900 HiDPI mode on external monitors... It's a great app. The only one that allows you to do that.

Any resolution you choose will always be scaled down to your monitor's supported resolution. But it looks better in HiDPI.

#11 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 25 April 2013 - 17:40

SetResX allows you to set any resolution you want, even for external monitors. You can even set 3.200x1800 and also achieve 1600x900 HiDPI mode on external monitors... It's a great app. The only one that allows you to do that.

Any resolution you choose will always be scaled down to your monitor's supported resolution. But it looks better in HiDPI.


Hmmm...I may give that a try! I have a 27" cinema display 2560 x 1440. At full resolution I sometimes find the UI elements to be too tiny (I have really pathetic eye sight even with vision correction). But 1280 x 720 HiDPI makes everything TOO large. Intermediate resolutions are fuzzy (yes I am sensitive to fuzzy resolutions despite my poor eye sight).

#12 Luis Mazza

Luis Mazza

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-January 09
  • Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

Posted 25 April 2013 - 18:20

Hmmm...I may give that a try! I have a 27" cinema display 2560 x 1440. At full resolution I sometimes find the UI elements to be too tiny (I have really pathetic eye sight even with vision correction). But 1280 x 720 HiDPI makes everything TOO large. Intermediate resolutions are fuzzy (yes I am sensitive to fuzzy resolutions despite my poor eye sight).


Take a look at this: http://forums.macrum...d.php?t=1568657

We discussed a lot about that :)

#13 Razorwing

Razorwing

    Rocket

  • Joined: 14-March 03
  • Location: Markham,Ontario
  • OS: Windows 8 / OSX Mavericks
  • Phone: HTC One

Posted 25 April 2013 - 20:13

I run mine at 1440x900.

#14 OP bdsams

bdsams

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-April 03
  • Location: Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted 26 April 2013 - 13:28

I don't like how they have defined HiDPI resolutions. I assure you that 1440 x 900 HiDPI mode is actually 2880 x 1800 resolution. Take a screenshot if you need further convincing. I think it is because if you consider how the resolution relates to desktop realestate 1440 x 900 HiDPI mode is equivalent to 1440 x 900 normal DPI mode. HiDPI mode will use high resolution images when available and stretch low res images. If you were able to set the resolution to 2880 x 1800 normal DPI mode everything would be TINY but you would have a LOT of desktop realestate!


That's the issue, the menu bar at the top becomes huge, tabs on chrome are massive! I like real estate!

#15 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 26 April 2013 - 17:51

Take a look at this: http://forums.macrum...d.php?t=1568657

We discussed a lot about that :)


Wow, got 1600 x 900 HiDPI mode enabled. Really love it. Web pages work well, but the UI lag is pretty crappy :(. I'm going to experiment with 1920 x 1080 HiDPI.