Jump to content



Photo

partitioning my HDD


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 SPEhosting

SPEhosting

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:15

I want to install windows on my laptop (for gaming reasons), but I didnt think I would ever want to (ps3 died) ....so my HDD is just one partition ...is there anyway I can partition my HDD without having to reinstall? i am only using 50gbs of my 500gb disk anyway ... i just have everything how i like it


#2 insanelyapple

insanelyapple

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Location: Biggest village in Europe

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:25

There is such feature in Windows 7's Disk Management: click

#3 OP SPEhosting

SPEhosting

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:26

There is such feature in Windows 7's Disk Management: click


sadly i need to shrink on ubuntu :p so i can fit windows on

#4 insanelyapple

insanelyapple

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-December 06
  • Location: Biggest village in Europe

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:31

Aw, i didn't noticed - Ubuntu should have disk management application in both live and installed OS variants. You can always try Gparted live or Parted Magic.

#5 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:32

I recommend that you use GParted Live. Just make sure that you don't move your boot partition (left alignment is very important for the bootloader). Also, I wouldn't use the disk management utility in Windows even if I was running Windows; it's almost as bad as even worse than Disk Utility in OS X!

#6 sean.ferguson

sean.ferguson

    GNU/Linux User

  • Joined: 25-June 05
  • Location: Scotland
  • OS: GNU/Linux

Posted 27 April 2013 - 20:46

I recommend that you use GParted Live. Just make sure that you don't move your boot partition (left alignment is very important for the bootloader). Also, I wouldn't use the disk management utility in Windows even if I was running Windows; it's almost as bad as even worse than Disk Utility in OS X!


I agree with xorangekiller, your best choice is to use GParted Live.

#7 OP SPEhosting

SPEhosting

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 27 April 2013 - 23:25

I recommend that you use GParted Live. Just make sure that you don't move your boot partition (left alignment is very important for the bootloader). Also, I wouldn't use the disk management utility in Windows even if I was running Windows; it's almost as bad as even worse than Disk Utility in OS X!


i did what was needed and wqhen i made a blank partition my ubuntu booted up fine... i then installed windows... and it no longer works... what should i do? i know files r still there

#8 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 April 2013 - 00:06

It sounds like Windows overwrote your bootloader. That's typical. It's so common, in fact, that there is an Ubuntu wiki page on how to fix it and a utility on the Ubuntu live CD to automate the procedure.

Here is the relevant excerpt from the wiki page I linked:

  • Insert your Ubuntu CD, reboot your computer and set it to boot from CD in the BIOS and boot into a live session. You can also use a LiveUSB if you have created one in the past.
  • Install and run Boot-Repair
  • Click "Recommended Repair".
  • Now reboot your system. The usual GRUB boot menu should appear. If it does not, hold Left Shift while booting. You will be able to choose between Ubuntu and Windows.



#9 OP SPEhosting

SPEhosting

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 28 April 2013 - 00:38

It sounds like Windows overwrote your bootloader. That's typical. It's so common, in fact, that there is an Ubuntu wiki page on how to fix it and a utility on the Ubuntu live CD to automate the procedure.

Here is the relevant excerpt from the wiki page I linked:


ok will look at it soon :) ty vm...but it doesnt even appear as an option? is tht normal
?

#10 +Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: #!Crunchbang Debian
  • Phone: HTC ONE V

Posted 28 April 2013 - 00:59

Yes, Window's boot loader does not play friendly with Linux. It attempts to set the bootloader to the Window's way.

#11 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 April 2013 - 01:10

ok will look at it soon :) ty vm...but it doesnt even appear as an option? is tht normal
?


Unfortunately that is normal after installing Windows. The Windows bootloader is blissfully unaware that Windows is not the only operating system in existence, and it will gladly pummel any other bootloaders in its path. Fortunately GRUB is less esoteric and will correctly detect and allow you to boot Windows, Ubuntu, and any other operating systems you choose to install once you restore it to the MBR.

#12 OP SPEhosting

SPEhosting

    C++ n00b

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 08
  • Location: my room
  • OS: windows 7, backtrack 5, OSx 10.6

Posted 28 April 2013 - 01:24

Yes, Window's boot loader does not play friendly with Linux. It attempts to set the bootloader to the Window's way.

Ubuntu, and any other operating systems you choose to install once you restore it to the MBR.


I just want to play skyrim....why does life hate me.... my steam on the main windows PC keeps saying there is no internet connection to update from....my ps3 died as soon as i played skyrim (bought on day of release and got YLOD after playing skyrim) ... windows and linux are now fighting.. I JUST WANT TO PLAY SKYRIM :'(

#13 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 28 April 2013 - 01:41

I just want to play skyrim....why does life hate me.... my steam on the main windows PC keeps saying there is no internet connection to update from....my ps3 died as soon as i played skyrim (bought on day of release and got YLOD after playing skyrim) ... windows and linux are now fighting.. I JUST WANT TO PLAY SKYRIM :'(


When you put it like that... it's a little bit funny. I would suggest trying to install it in WINE, but with your luck that might not be such a good idea.

#14 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12
  • Location: 'Murica
  • OS: Windows, Linux, OS X
  • Phone: Motorola Moto G

Posted 03 May 2013 - 16:11

I just want to play skyrim....why does life hate me.... my steam on the main windows PC keeps saying there is no internet connection to update from....my ps3 died as soon as i played skyrim (bought on day of release and got YLOD after playing skyrim) ... windows and linux are now fighting.. I JUST WANT TO PLAY SKYRIM :'(


When you put it like that... it's a little bit funny. I would suggest trying to install it in WINE, but with your luck that might not be such a good idea.


I hope I'm not 6 days too late, but on my Debian rig, skyrim runs, however it is laggy and freeze happy. After you are done installing Windows, boot inst a live cd and do a...

sudo apt-get update grub




Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!