phpbb2 setup help

Question

Please put as much detail into your answers as you can because im very new to this.

Before you install phpBB 2.0 you need to create a Data Source Name. The exact way to do this will depend on your hosting provider, if you are unsure you should check with them before proceeding

What is a data source name?

In general though you should create a System DSN which points to the location where you have stored an unzipped copy of the ms_access_primer.mdb file ( ms_access_primer.zip can be found in db/schemas/).

I understand where the file is but I dont understand what they mean by point the dsn to the location of that file.. www.domain.com/phpbb2/ms_access_primer.mdb?

Now about the uploading of the phpbb2 files. Should I place them in a folder located at, www.domain.com/phpbb2? or where would be best..

The first step of the MySQL database creation wizard allows you to create a database. In the Name of database field enter the name of the database you are creating. This name will be used later when you connect to the database from any database clients or tools

so if I name it, phpbb2, to connect to it, it will use the url www.domain.com/phpbb2? :ermm:

Thanks. :)

6 answers to this question

Alright.....

This whole part of your first post

{

Please put as much detail into your answers as you can because im very new to this.

Before you install phpBB 2.0 you need to create a Data Source Name. The exact way to do this will depend on your hosting provider, if you are unsure you should check with them before proceeding

What is a data source name?

In general though you should create a System DSN which points to the location where you have stored an unzipped copy of the ms_access_primer.mdb file ( ms_access_primer.zip can be found in db/schemas/).

I understand where the file is but I dont understand what they mean by point the dsn to the location of that file.. www.domain.com/phpbb2/ms_access_primer.mdb?

}

Ignore all that....