Jump to content



Photo

Budget-ish Video Card

radeon gtx 650 ti boost 7790

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 04 May 2013 - 01:10

My old fella is beginning to show his age. I have a Phenom II x4 940 @ 3.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR2 (wow, so old school), slow 7200 RPM HD (need an SSD soon), and my monitor runs at 1920x1200 (I need a 16:9 resolution for better recording, hehe). I was running a Radeon HD 6850 1 GB, but the fan died. The card itself is fine, but I don't really trust the RMA process of Sapphire. So with that said, I need something around $140-160 that will run well. I don't really play anything too new, but would like to try PlanetSide 2 at more than 12 FPS, lol. Most of my bottleneck has nothing to do with the video card. My machine is really old now. I will do a full upgrade in about a year. I have to worry about moving first.

I was thinking a 650 Ti Boost (1 GB) or a 7790 (1 GB). Would that do?


#2 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 04 May 2013 - 02:53

What is your wattage on you PSU?

#3 OP +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 04 May 2013 - 03:01

1000 W. I am thinking a GTX 650 Ti SuperClocked, though I unfortunately not afford a 2 GB at this point.

#4 YounGMessiah

YounGMessiah

    "individual magnets"

  • Joined: 16-June 09
  • Location: Garden Of The Gods
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3

Posted 04 May 2013 - 13:58

Save up for the superclocked or wait a lil longer?

#5 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 04 May 2013 - 14:14

I don't get the superclocked cards, surely you can just buy the base one and do it yourself?

I have 7850 and clocked from 860/1200 to 1050/1400 which is faster than the highest clocked 7850 available for £50 less.

The 7790 is a little faster than 650Ti but from my experience AMD drivers are GARBAGE. I'd gladly swap for nVidia equivalent if I had the chance.

#6 Vvo

Vvo

    nom! nom! nom! Hug a fluffy dolphin!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-November 10
  • Location: fluffyland
  • OS: Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 8.1/Windows XP/ Linux
  • Phone: Samsung Vibrant (android 4.4.4 KK Liquidsmooth 3.2)

Posted 04 May 2013 - 15:12

@ op, 1000 watts psu? :o that's an overkill for your setup, a 550-750 watts should be sufficient for the gfx card that you intend to use, but that's just me. Everyone's entitled to their own taste and preference............

#7 fusi0n

fusi0n

    Don't call it a come back

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • OS: OSX 10.9\Windows 10\Ubuntu
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 04 May 2013 - 15:14

Geforce 660.. bought one for my linux box for emulators.. rocks! Also plays CSGO Linux Beta awesome ;)

#8 threetonesun

threetonesun

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-February 02

Posted 04 May 2013 - 15:18

$160 should get you a 7850 of some sort. I'd take that over the 7790 or the 650 Ti.

#9 Athlonite

Athlonite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-April 07
  • Location: New Zealand

Posted 10 May 2013 - 08:55

from newegg : http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814161406

HIS HD7850 2GB + you get a 10% off code which brings it down to your price level

#10 OP +Yorak

Yorak

    Insubordinate

  • Joined: 06-February 05
  • Location: Virginia

Posted 19 May 2013 - 20:44

@ op, 1000 watts psu? :o that's an overkill for your setup, a 550-750 watts should be sufficient for the gfx card that you intend to use, but that's just me. Everyone's entitled to their own taste and preference............


I had a 4870x2 when I first built this, and was planning on more upgrades. So in its current configuration, it is overkill a bit.

Just wanted to update and say that I went with a 2 GB 650 Ti SuperClocked. This rig will only be my primary one for a few more months until I build a new system. Thanks everyone for the input! Sorry I forgot to update until now.