Jump to content



Photo

Hacked linux on PS3 performance?

ps3 linux all cores

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 16 May 2013 - 10:48

I know that originally the PS3 supported linux in a limited mode but had read about people being able to effectively 'hack' the console and unlock linux on all cores of the processor, but what is the performance of the system like when running it like this?
Does the 512MB of RAM limit it badly or what? Or are you able to solder in more RAM and get better performance? Or possibly use a dev kit?
I'm interested specifically in server and compiling workloads, not a desktop.


#2 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:13

How weird, I was thinking of exactly this Yesterday. There is Yellow Dog Linux. I would be interested in doing these two things on a PS3 but I dont have the hardware...

http://www.neowin.ne...-optimizations/

http://www.neowin.ne...-optimizations/

As for enabling all the CPU/Cores you could just easily change that in the kernel option files and have all the cores unlocked ;-)

#3 0nyX

0nyX

    Posting from Apple //c

  • Joined: 07-April 09
  • Location: C:\Users\OnyX

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:27

With my limited knowledge and as far as i can remember,Linux was very slow on PS3 due to lack of GPU (RSX) acceleration.
That was the main problem.
There was some efforts of writing a driver for the RSX but i dont whats going on with that (if it stopped,if it iscompleted etc) since i dont use my PS3 for linux anymore.

#4 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:54

How weird, I was thinking of exactly this Yesterday. There is Yellow Dog Linux. I would be interested in doing these two things on a PS3 but I dont have the hardware...

http://www.neowin.ne...-optimizations/

http://www.neowin.ne...-optimizations/

As for enabling all the CPU/Cores you could just easily change that in the kernel option files and have all the cores unlocked ;-)


The way I understand it, the console's hardware was not available to Linux because it ran inside a virtual machine with virtual hardware, locking out access to all the CPU cores and the graphics card.

#5 Biohead

Biohead

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 20-November 05
  • Location: Heathrow, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 May 2013 - 11:55

Day to day performance? Terrible. The main issue is that is a highly specific CPU design, and that code needs to be optimised to take full advantage of the Cell. If not, you'll get roughly the performance of a G4-G5 era PowerMac (which gets dwarfed by even an entry level PC today).

Even if you could get all the cores working properly (which isn't as simple as enabling them in the kernel), you're still limited to 256mb of RAM (or 512 if you can utilise the VRAM) and it will seriously hamper performance. Less RAM intensive tasks may fair better though, and again they need to be optimised for Cell.

At the end of the day, the CPU design itself is over 8 years old - which is an awfully long time in computing terms.

#6 Mindovermaster

Mindovermaster

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 25-January 07
  • Location: /USA/Wisconsin/
  • OS: Debian Jessie
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIII

Posted 16 May 2013 - 12:07

The PS3 uses the Cell microprocessor, which is made up of one 3.2 GHz PowerPC-based "Power Processing Element" (PPE) and six accessible Synergistic Processing Elements (SPEs).


http://en.wikipedia....tion_3_hardware

#7 OP n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 16 May 2013 - 12:18

As for enabling all the CPU/Cores you could just easily change that in the kernel option files and have all the cores unlocked ;-)

See no, you can't unfortunately.

I'm not referring to using the official OS method, I mean using a method like this;
https://www.youtube....h?v=zQ4Q_mqwxpA
Likewise I don't own a PS3 but with the details of the PS4 coming soon and whatnot I'll be keeping an eye on PS3 prices!